Barclays Official California Code of Regulations Currentness

Title 14. Natural Resources

Division 5.5 California Coastal Commission [FNA1]

Chapter 5. Coastal Development Permits Issued by Coastal Commissions

Subchapter 1. Regular Permits

Article 4. Schedule of Filing Fees for Processing Permit Applications and Other Filings

14 CCR § 13055

§ 13055. Fees.

- (a) Filing fees for processing coastal development permit applications shall be as follows:
 - (1) \$2,770 \$2,833 for any development qualifying for an administrative permit.
 - (2) (A) For up to 4 detached, single-family residences the fee for each residence shall be based on the square footage of the proposed residence as shown in the following table:

Square Footage of Proposed

Fee

Residence

1500 or less

\$3,324\$3,399

1501 to 5000

4 086\$5 000

5001 to 10,000

\$6,648<u>\$6,798</u>

10,001 or more

\$8,310<u>\$8,498</u>

- (B) For more than 4 detached, single-family residences, the fee shall be as follows:
 - 1. For residences of 1500 square feet or less, the fee shall be \$16,620\$16,995 or \$1,108\$1,133 per residence,

100,001 to 200,000

\$5,540\$5,665

200,001 or more

\$11,080\$11,330

This fee does not apply to residential projects that qualify for administrative permits.

- (5) For office, commercial, convention, or industrial (including energy facilities as defined in Public Resources Code section 30107) development, and for all other development not otherwise identified in this section, the fee shall be based upon either the gross square footage as shown in (5)(A) or the development cost as shown in (5)(B) whichever is greater.
- (A) Fees based upon gross square footage shall be as follows:

Sauare	Footage

Fee

of Proposed Development

1000 or less

\$5,540\$5,665

1001 to 10,000

\$11,080\$11,330

10,001 to 25,000

\$16,620\$16,995

25,001 to 50,000

22,160\$22,660

50,001 to 100,000

\$33,240\$33,990

100,001 or more

\$55,400\$56,650

(B)1. Fees based upon development cost shall be as follows:

Development Cost

Fee

(1) (A) \$554\$567 for either an extension or reconsideration of coastal development permit for a single-family dwellings. (B) \$1,108\$1,133 for an extension or reconsideration of any other coastal development permit. (2) \$554\\$567 for a "de minimis" waiver of a coastal development permit application pursuant to Public Resources Code section 30624.7 and for a waiver pursuant to sections 13250(c) and 13253(c) of this title. (3) \$277\$283 for any written confirmation of exemption from permit requirements of Public Resources Code section 30600. (4) \$1,108\$1,133 for any continuance requested by the applicant, except the first continuance. (5) The filing fee for: (A) any certification of consistency that is submitted to the Commission pursuant to sections 307(c)(3)(A) or (B) of the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972 (16 USC section 1456(c)(3)(A), (B)), or (B) any appeal to the Commission pursuant to Public Resources Code sections 30602 or 30603(a)(5) by an applicant of a denial of a coastal development permit application shall be determined in accordance with the provisions of subsection (a). (6) The request for a boundary determination pursuant to either section 13255.1 or 13576(c) shall be accompanied by a filing and processing fee of \$277\$283. For a request for a boundary determination pursuant to section 13255.1 or 13576(c)(2) that pertains to two or more parcels, the fee shall be paid on a per parcel basis. (7) The request for a boundary adjustment pursuant to section 13255.2 shall be accompanied by a filing and processing fee of \$5,540\$5,665. (c) The fees established in this section shall be increased annually by an amount calculated on the basis of the percentage change from the year in which this provision becomes effective in the California Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers as determined by the Department of Industrial Relations pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2212. The increased fee amounts shall become effective on July 1 of each year. The new fee amounts shall be rounded to the nearest dollar.

affordable housing under the law will receive a larger fee waiver than applications for projects which do not.

- (3) For applications received prior to January 1, 2015, the executive director of the Commission shall reduce the filing fee for projects that are certified at a minimum of the U.S. Green Building Council's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold standard or equivalent. The executive director shall determine if an alternative certification is equivalent or greater environmental benefit. After registering a project with an approved third-party certification program, applicants expecting to obtain a certification that qualifies for the above-mentioned fee reduction must submit 60% of the filing fee required pursuant to section 13055 and a letter of credit or other cash substitute approved by the executive director in the amount of the remainder of the required filing fee. After submitting proof of certification at a minimum of LEED Gold or equivalent, the letter of credit or other cash substitute will be released by the Commission to the applicant. If the applicant does not receive a minimum of LEED Gold certification or equivalent within three years of the date of permit issuance, the Commission will cash the letter of credit or other cash substitute. The executive director may grant an extension of the three year deadline for good cause. Request for extension must be submitted to the executive director in writing at least 60 days prior to the deadline, outlining the reason for the request and the expected completion date. The extension shall not exceed one year.
- (i) The required fee shall be paid in full at the time an application is filed. However, applicants for an administrative permit shall pay an additional fee after filing if the executive director or the commission determines that the application cannot be processed as an administrative permit. The additional fee shall be the amount necessary to increase the total fee paid to the regular fee. The regular fee is the fee determined pursuant to this section. In addition, if the executive director or the commission determines that changes in the nature or description of the project that occur after the initial filing result in a change in the amount of the fee required pursuant to this section, the applicant shall pay the amount necessary to change the total fee paid to the fee so determined. If the change results in a decreased fee, a refund will be due only if no significant staff review time has been expended on the original application. If the change results in an increased fee, the additional fee shall be paid before the permit application is scheduled for hearing by the commission. If the fee is not paid prior to commission action on the application, the commission shall impose a special condition of approval of the permit. Such special condition shall require payment of the additional fee prior to issuance of the permit.

Note: Authority cited: Section 30333, Public Resources Code. Reference: Sections 30620(c) and 30253, Public Resources Code.

14 CCR § 13055, 14 CA ADC § 13055

End of Document

© 2016 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.

State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re:

California Coastal Commission

Regulatory Action:

Title 14, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections:

Amend sections: 13055

Repeal sections:

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF CHANGES WITHOUT REGULATORY EFFECT

California Code of Regulations, Title 1, Section 100

OAL Matter Number: 2016-0613-03

OAL Matter Type: Nonsubstantive (N)

The California Coastal Commission submitted this action amending section 13055 of Title 14, to adjust the fees for permit applications and other filings as prescribed in section 13055(c). The Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers base year for calculations is 2008. For the 2016 increase, the change is 13.3%.

OAL approves this change without regulatory effect as meeting the requirements of California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 100.

Date: July 25, 2016

Thanh Huynh Senior Attorney

For:

Debra M. Cornez

Director

Original: Peter Douglas Copy: Robin Mayer

MSUBSTANL For use by Secretary of State only OAL FILE NOTICE FILE NUMBER REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER EMERGENCY NUMBER 2016-0613-031 For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only NUMBERS Z-ENDORSED - FILED in the office of the Secretary of State of the State of California 00 3: 09 € 1 NUL 4103 JUL 25 2016 OFFICE OF 3:25 Pm ADMINISTRATIVE I AW REGULATIONS AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If any) California Coastal Commission A. PUBLICATION OF NOTICE (Complete for publication in Notice Register) 1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE FIRST SECTION AFFECTED 2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE 3. NOTICE TYPE Notice re Proposed TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER (Optional) 4. AGENCY CONTACT PERSON Other Regulatory Action ACTION ON PROPOSED NOTICE OAL USE NOTICE REGISTER NUMBER PUBLICATION DATE Disapproved/ ONLY Submitted B. SUBMISSION OF REGULATIONS (Complete when submitting regulations) 1a. SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S) 1b. ALL PREVIOUS RELATED OAL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S) Permit application fee, annual increase 2015-0629-01 (for reference purposes) 2. SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS TITLE(S) AND SECTION(S) (Including title 26, if toxics related) ADOP1 SECTION(S) AFFECTED (List all section number(s) AMEND individually. Attach 13055(a),(b),(e),(f) additional sheet if needed.) TITLE(S) REPEAL 14 3 TYPE OF FILING Regular Rulemaking (Gov. Certificate of Compliance: The agency officer named Emergency Readopt (Gov. **Changes Without Regulatory** Code §11346) below certifies that this agency complied with the Code, §11346.1(h)) Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title Resubmittal of disapproved or provisions of Gov. Code §§11346.2-11347.3 either 1, §100) withdrawn nonemergency before the emergency regulation was adopted or File & Print Print Only filing (Gov. Code §§11349.3. within the time period required by statute 11349.4) Resubmittal of disapproved or withdrawn Emergency (Gov. Code, Other (Specify) §11346.1(b)) emergency filing (Gov. Code, §11346.1) 4. ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATIONS AND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO THE RULEMAKING FILE (Cal. Code Regs. title 1, §44 and Gov. Code §11347.1) 5. EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES (Gov. Code, §§ 11343.4, 11346.1(d); Cal. Code Regs., title 1, §100) Effective January 1, April 1, July 1, or Effective on filing with §100 Changes Without Effective October 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a)) Regulatory Effect other (Specify) Secretary of State CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQUIRE NOTICE TO, OR REVIEW, CONSULTATION, APPROVAL OR CONCURRENCE BY, ANOTHER AGENCY OR ENTITY Fair Political Practices Commission Department of Finance (Form STD, 399) (SAM §6660) State Fire Marshal Other (Specify) 7. CONTACT PERSON TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER (Optional) E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional) Robin Mayer (415) 904-5238 robin.mayer@coastal.ca.gov For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only I certify that the attached copy of the regulation(s) is a true and correct copy ENDORSED APPROVED of the regulation(s) identified on this form, that the information specified on this form is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification. JUL 2 5 2016 SIGNATURE OF AGENCY HE TYPED NAME AND TITLE OF Office of Administrative Law Susan Hansch, Chief Deputy Director