CALIFORNIA COASTAL COMMISSION

45 FREMONT, SUITE 2000 SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94105-2219 VOICE (415) 904-5200 FAX (415) 904-5400 TDD (415) 597-5885



W6f

DATE June 27, 2014

TO: Coastal Commission and Other Interested Persons

FROM: Charles Lester, Executive Director

Susan Hansch, Chief Deputy Director

SUBJECT: Filing Fee Increase Effective July 1, 2014

Information Item/No Commission Action Required

The Commission's Application filing fees are governed by the Coastal Act and implementing regulations. (See Pub. Res. Code § 30620(c); 14 Cal Code Reg § 13055.) Under the Commission's regulations, the filing fees are adjusted annually to account for inflation. The change from 2013 is 1.9 percent. The cumulative increase from 2008 to 2014 is 9.6 percent.

Specifically, the Commission's regulations provide:

"The fees established ... shall be increased annually by an amount calculated on the basis of the percentage change from the year in which this provision becomes effective in the California Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers as determined by the Department of Industrial Relations pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2212. The increased fee amounts shall become effective on July 1 of each year. The new fee amounts shall be rounded to the nearest dollar." (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 14, § 13055(c).)

This requirement to adjust annually for inflation became effective in March 2008. The fees generated are deposited into the Coastal Act Services Fund. Upon appropriation by the Legislature, the Commission may expend the money for implementation of the Coastal Act. Each year, \$500,000 (adjusted annually for inflation) is transferred to the State Coastal Conservancy's Coastal Access Account. (See Pub. Res. Code §§ 30620.1 and 30620.2.)

Based on the Department of Industrial Relations CPI Index Calculator, the California Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers between April 2008 thru April 2014 increased by 9.6%. (http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlsr/CPI/CPICalc.xls.)

The schedule of filing fees will be adjusted for inflation effective July 1, 2014. The new fee schedule will be posted on the Commission's website and is attached, hereto. (See Exhibit 1.)

No Commission action is required.

Attachments:

Exhibit 1: Filing Fee Chart

Exhibit 2: Filing Fee Revised Schedule for Permit Application Form (effective July 1, 2014)

EXHIBIT 1 Filing Fee Chart

Fee #	CCC Filing Fee Category	March 2008 Original Filing Fee	Curre	ent Filing Fee	oposed Fee Increase sed on Original Filing Fee at CPI 9.6% Inflation Rate	Rounded to the nearest \$1
1	Waiver	\$500	\$	538	\$ 548.00	\$ 548
2	Administrative Permit	\$2,500	\$	2,690	\$ 2,740.00	\$ 2,740
3	Up to 4 SFRs <1,500 sq. feet	\$3,000	\$	3,228	\$ 3,288.00	\$ 3,288
4	Up to 4 SFRs 1,501<5,000 sq. feet	\$4,500	\$	4,842	\$ 4,932.00	\$ 4,932
5	Up to 4 SFRs 5,001<10,000 sq. feet	\$6,000	\$	6,456	\$ 6,576.00	\$ 6,576
6	Up to 4 SFRs >10,001 sq. feet	\$7,500	\$	8,070	\$ 8,220.00	\$ 8,220
7	5 or more SFRs average <1,500 sq. feet	\$15,000	\$	16,140	\$ 16,440.00	\$ 16,440
		\$1,000	\$	1,076	\$ 1,096.00	\$ 1,096
8	5 or more SFRs average 1,501<5,000 sq. feet	\$22,500	\$	24,210	\$ 24,660.00	\$ 24,660
		\$1,500	\$	1,614	\$ 1,644.00	\$ 1,644
9	5 or more SFRs average 5,001<10,000 sq. feet	\$30,000	\$	32,280	\$ 32,880.00	\$ 32,880
		\$2,000	\$	2,152	\$ 2,192.00	\$ 2,192
10	5 or more SFRs average >10,001 sq. feet	\$37,500	\$	40,350	\$ 41,100.00	\$ 41,100
		\$2,500	\$	2,690	\$ 2,740.00	\$ 2,740
11	Attached Residential up to 4 units	\$7,500	\$	8,070	\$ 8,220.00	\$ 8,220
12	More than 4 Attached Residential units	\$10,000	\$	10,760	\$ 10,960.00	\$ 10,960
		\$750	\$	807	\$ 822.00	\$ 822
13	Subdivisions – up to 4 new lots	\$3,000	\$	3,228	\$ 3,288.00	\$ 3,288
	More than 4 new lots	\$12,000	\$	12,912	\$ 13,152.00	\$ 13,152
		\$1,000	\$	1,076	\$ 1,096.00	\$ 1,096
14	Grading <51 c.y.	\$0	\$	-	\$ -	\$ -
15	Grading 51<100 c.y.	\$500	\$	538	\$ 548.00	\$ 548
16	Grading 101<1000 c.y.	\$1,000	\$	1,076	\$ 1,096.00	\$ 1,096
17	Grading 1,001<10,000 c.y.	\$2,000	\$	2,152	\$ 2,192.00	\$ 2,192
18	Grading 10,001<100,000 c.y.	\$3,000	\$	3,228	\$ 3,288.00	\$ 3,288
19	Grading 100,001<200,000 c.y.	\$5,000	\$	5,380	\$ 5,480.00	\$ 5,480
20	Grading >200,000 c.y.	\$10,000	\$	10,760	\$ 10,960.00	\$ 10,960

	Commercial/Industrial Based on Gross Sq.Ft.		\$ -	\$ -	\$ -
21	Commercial/Industrial <1,000 sq. feet	\$5,000	\$ 5,380	\$ 5,480.00	\$ 5,480
22	Commercial/Industrial 1,001<10,000 sq. feet	\$10,000	\$ 10,760	\$ 10,960.00	\$ 10,960
23	Commercial/Industrial 10,001<25,000 sq. feet	\$15,000	\$ 16,140	\$ 16,440.00	\$ 16,440
24	Commercial/Industrial 25,001<50,000 sq. feet	\$20,000	\$ 21,520	\$ 21,920.00	\$ 21,920
25	Commercial/Industrial 50,001<100,000 sq. feet	\$30,000	\$ 32,280	\$ 32,880.00	\$ 32,880
26	Commercial/Industrial >100,001 sq. feet	\$50,000	\$ 53,800	\$ 54,800.00	\$ 54,800
	Commercial/Industrial Based on Devt Cost		\$ -	\$ -	\$ -
27	Commercial/Industrial <\$100,000	\$3,000	\$ 3,228	\$ 3,288.00	\$ 3,288
28	Commercial/Industrial \$100,001<\$500,000	\$6,000	\$ 6,456	\$ 6,576.00	\$ 6,576
29	Commercial/Industrial \$500,001<\$2,000,000	\$10,000	\$ 10,760	\$ 10,960.00	\$ 10,960
30	Commercial/Industrial \$2,000,001<\$5,000,000	\$20,000	\$ 21,520	\$ 21,920.00	\$ 21,920
31	Commercial/Industrial \$5,000,001<\$10,000,000	\$25,000	\$ 26,900	\$ 27,400.00	\$ 27,400
32	Commercial/Industrial \$10,000,001<\$25,000,000	\$30,000	\$ 32,280	\$ 32,880.00	\$ 32,880
33	Commercial/Industrial \$25,000,001<\$50,000,000	\$50,000	\$ 53,800	\$ 54,800.00	\$ 54,800
34	Commercial/Industrial \$50,000,001<\$100,000,000	\$100,000	\$ 107,600	\$ 109,600.00	\$ 109,600
35	Commercial/Industrial >\$100,000,000	\$250,000	\$ 269,000	\$ 274,000.00	\$ 274,000
36	Emergency permit	\$1,000	\$ 1,076	\$ 1,096.00	\$ 1,096
37	Immaterial amendment	\$1,000	\$ 1,076	\$ 1,096.00	\$ 1,096
38	Material amendment	50% of fee			
39	Extension or reconsideration for single-family residences	\$500	\$ 538	\$ 548.00	\$ 548
40	Extension or reconsideration for all other developments	\$1,000	\$ 1,076	\$ 1,096.00	\$ 1,096
41	Temporary Events - if administrative	\$1,000	\$ 1,076	\$ 1,096.00	\$ 1,096

42	Temporary Events - if not administrative	\$2,500	\$ 2,690	\$ 2,740.00	\$ 2,740
43	Permit Exemption	\$250	\$ 269	\$ 274.00	\$ 274
44	Continuance 1st Request	\$0	\$ -	\$ -	\$ -
45	Continuance for each subsequent request if approved by Commission	\$1,000	\$ 1,076	\$ 1,096.00	\$ 1,096
46	DeMinimis Waiver or other Waivers	\$500	\$ 538	\$ 548.00	\$ 548
47	Boundary Determination	\$250	\$ 269	\$ 274.00	\$ 274
48	Boundary Adjustment	\$5,000	\$ 5,380	\$ 5,480.00	\$ 5,480
49	Lot Line Adjustment	\$3,000	\$ 3,228	\$ 3,288.00	\$ 3,288
		5x normal permit			
50	After the Fact***	fee			
51	Federal Consistency Certification				
52	Appeal of a denial of a permit by local govt				

^{*}Whichever is greater.

[1] Not to exceed \$109,600

[**] Not to exceed \$54,800

**Fees and fee increases will vary depending on project type.

California Coastal Commission Filing Fees Proposed Modifications per the Consumer Price Index

EXHIBIT 2

COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT FORM APPENDIX E

FILING FEE SCHEDULE

(EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2014)

FEES WILL BE ADJUSTED EACH YEAR ON JULY 1, ACCORDING TO THE CALIFORNIA CONSUMER PRICE INDEX

- ➤ Pursuant to Government Code section 6103, public entities are exempt from the fees set forth in this schedule.
- Permits shall not be issued without full payment for all applicable fees. If overpayment of a fee occurs, a refund will be issued. Fees are assessed at the time of application, based on the project as proposed initially. If the size or scope of a proposed development is amended during the application review process, the fee may be changed. If a permit application is withdrawn, a refund will be due only if no significant staff review time has been expended (e.g., the staff report has not yet been prepared). Denial of a permit application by the Commission is not grounds for a refund.
- ➤ If different types of development are included on one site under one application, the fee is based on the sum of each fee that would apply if each development were applied for separately, not to exceed \$109,600 for residential development and \$274,000 for all other types of development.
- Fees for after-the-fact (ATF) permit applications shall be five times the regular permit application fee unless the Executive Director reduces the fee to no less than two times the regular permit application fee. The Executive Director may reduce the fee if it is determined that either: (1) the ATF application can be processed by staff without significant additional review time (as compared to the time required for the processing of a regular permit,) or (2) the owner did not undertake the development for which the owner is seeking the ATF permit.
- ➤ In addition to the above fees, the Commission may require the applicant to reimburse it for any additional reasonable expenses incurred in its consideration of the permit application, including the costs of providing public notice.
- ➤ The Executive Director shall waive the application fee where requested by resolution of the Commission. Fees for green buildings or affordable housing projects may be reduced, pursuant to Section 13055(h) of the Commission's regulations.

See Section 13055 of the Commission's regulations (California Code of Regulations, Title 14) for full text of the requirements

l.	RES	SIDENTIAL DEVELOPMENT ¹		
		De minimis waiver	\$	548
		Administrative permit	\$	2,740 ²
	A.	Detached residential development		
		Regular calendar for up to 4 detached, single-family dwelling(s) ^{3,4}		
		1,500 square feet or less	\$	3,288/ea
		1,501 to 5,000 square feet	\$	4,932/ea
		5,001 to 10,000 square feet	\$	6,576/ea
		10,001 or more square feet	\$	8,220/ea
		Regular calendar for more than 4 detached, single-family dwellings ^{3,4}		
		1,500 square feet or less		16,440 or \$1,096/ea ⁵ ichever is greater
		1,501 to 5,000 square feet		24,660 or \$1,644/ea ⁵ ichever is greater
		5,001 to 10,000 square feet		32,880 or \$2,192/ea ⁵ ichever is greater
		10,001 or more square feet		41,100 or \$2,740/ea ⁵ ichever is greater
	B.	Attached residential development		
		2–4 units	\$	8,220
		More than 4 units	\$ wh	10,960 or \$822/ea6 ichever is greater

Additional fee for grading applies. (See Section III.A of this fee schedule.)
 Additional fee will apply if the project is removed from the Administrative Calendar and rescheduled on the Regular Calendar.
 "Square footage" includes gross internal floor space of main house and attached garage(s), plus any detached structures (e.g., guest houses, detached bedrooms, in-law units, garages, barns, art studios, tool sheds, and other outbuildings).

⁴ For developments that include residences of different sizes, the fee shall be based upon the average square footage of all the residences.

⁵ Not to exceed \$109,600.

⁶ Not to exceed \$54,800.

C. Additions or improvements

If **not** a waiver or an amendment to a previous coastal development permit, the fee is assessed according to the schedule in A. above (i.e., based on the calendar and/or size of the addition, plus the grading fee, if applicable).

If handled as an amendment to a previous coastal development permit, see Amendments (in Section III.F).

II. OFFICE, COMMERCIAL, CONVENTION, INDUSTRIAL (INCLUDING ENERGY FACILITIES), AND OTHER DEVELOPMENT NOT OTHERWISE IDENTIFIED IN THIS SECTION 7,8,9

A.	Based on Gross Square Footage		
	1,000 square feet (gross) or less	\$	5,480
	1,001 to 10,000 square feet (gross)	\$	10,960
	10,001 to 25,000 square feet (gross)	\$	16,440
	25,001 to 50,000 square feet (gross)	\$	21,920
	50,001 to 100,000 square feet (gross)	\$	32,880
	100,001 or more square feet (gross)	\$	54,800
B.	Based on Development Cost ¹⁰		
	Development cost up to and including \$100,000	\$	3,288
	\$100,001 to \$500,000	\$	6,576
	\$500,001 to \$2,000,000	\$	10,960
	\$2,000,001 to \$5,000,000	\$	21,920
	\$5,000,001 to \$10,000,000	\$	27,400
	\$10,000,001 to \$25,000,000	\$	32,880
	\$25,000,001 to \$50,000,000	\$	54,800
	\$50,000,001 to \$100,000,000	\$	109,600
	\$100,000,001 or more	\$ 2	274,000

⁹ Pursuant to section 13055(a)(5) of the Commission's regulations, this category includes all development not otherwise identified in this section, such as seawalls, docks and water wells.

 ⁷ The fee shall be based on either the gross square footage or the development cost, whichever is greater.
 ⁸ Additional fee for grading applies. (See section III.A of this schedule).

¹⁰ Development cost includes all expenditures, including the cost for planning, engineering, architectural, and other services, made or to be made for designing the project plus the estimated cost of construction of all aspects of the project both inside and outside the Commission's jurisdiction.

III. OTHER FEES

A.	Grading ¹¹			
	50 cubic yards or less		\$	0
	51 to 100 cubic yards		\$	548
	101 to 1,000 cubic yards		\$	1,096
	1,001 to 10,000 cubic yards		\$	2,192
	10,001 to 100,000 cubic yards		\$	3,288
	100,001 to 200,000 cubic yards		\$	5,480
	200,001 or more cubic yards		\$	10,960
B.	Lot line adjustment ¹²		\$	3,288
C.	Subdivision ¹³			
	Up to 4 new lots		\$	3,288/ea
	More than 4 new lots		\$ for	13,152 plus \$1,096 each lot above 4
D.	Administrative permit		\$	2,74014
D. E.	Administrative permit Emergency permit		\$ \$	2,740 ¹⁴ 1,096 ¹⁵
	·		·	·
E.	Emergency permit		·	·
E.	Emergency permit		\$	1,096 ¹⁵
E.	Emergency permit		\$	1,096 ¹⁵
E.	Emergency permit	= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =	\$	1,096 ¹⁵ 1,096 (calculate fee)
E. F.	Emergency permit		\$ \$	1,096 ¹⁵ 1,096 (calculate fee)
E. F.	Emergency permit		\$ \$	1,096 ¹⁵ 1,096 (calculate fee) 30610(i)
E. F.	Emergency permit		\$ \$ \$ \$	1,096 ¹⁵ 1,096 (calculate fee) 30610(i) 1,096
E. F. G.	Emergency permit		\$ \$ \$ \$	1,096 ¹⁵ 1,096 (calculate fee) 30610(i) 1,096

The fee for grading is based on the cubic yards of cut, plus the cubic yards of fill.
 A lot line adjustment is between adjoining parcels where the land taken from one parcel is added to an adjoining parcel, and where a greater number of parcels than originally existed is not thereby created.
 The fee is charged for each parcel created in addition to the parcels that originally existed.
 Additional fee will apply if the project is removed from the Administrative Calendar and rescheduled on the Regular Calendar.
 The emergency application fee is credited toward the follow-up permit application fee.

¹⁶ If permit extension is objected to by the Commission and the application is set for a new hearing, then a new application fee is required, based on type of development and/or applicable calendar.

I.	Request for continuance		
	1st request		No charge
	Each subsequent request (where Commission approves the continuance)		\$ 1,096
J.	De minimis or other waivers		\$ 548
K.	Federal Consistency Certification ¹⁷ [The fee is assessed according to sections I, II, and II	I, above]	□ \$
L.	Appeal of a denial of a permit by a local government ¹ . [The fee is assessed according to sections I, II, and II		□ \$
M.	Written Permit Exemption		□ \$ 274
N.	Written Boundary Determination		□ \$ 274
0.	Coastal Zone Boundary Adjustment		\$ 5,480
	TO BE COMPLETED BY	STAFF	
SUBMITTI	ED FEE VERIFIED BY:	<i>Date:</i>	
IS SUBMIT	TED AMOUNT CORRECT?		
char	Applicant has correctly acterized the development, payment is appropriate. Applicant did not fill out form thus staff has marked the form to compute the fee, and applicant has paid fee.	orm	
REFUND	OR ADDITIONAL FEE REQUIRED? (STATE REASON)		
☐ Refu	und amount ()
☐ Add	itional fee amount ()
	REMINDER: RECORD FEE PAYN		
FINAL FE	E VERIFIED BY: (TO BE COMPLETED <u>AFTER</u> COMMISSION ACTION)	DATE:	

Fees for federal consistency items will be assessed now that the Commission has received approval from NOAA to amend the California Coastal Management Program.
 Pursuant to Public Resources Code section 30602 or 30603(a)(5).