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DATE June 26, 2015 W6e 
 
TO:  Coastal Commission and Other Interested Persons 
 
FROM: Charles Lester, Executive Director 

Susan Hansch, Chief Deputy Director 
 
SUBJECT: Filing Fee Increase Effective July 1, 2015 

Information Item/No Commission Action Required 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
The Commission’s Application filing fees are governed by the Coastal Act and implementing 
regulations. (See Pub. Res. Code § 30620(c); Cal Code Regs., tit. 14, § 13055.)  Under the 
Commission’s regulations, the filing fees are adjusted annually to account for inflation.  The 
change from 2014 is 1.1 percent. The cumulative increase from 2008 to 2015 is 10.8 percent. 
 
Specifically, the Commission’s regulations provide: 
 

“The fees established … shall be increased annually by an amount calculated on the basis of 
the percentage change from the year in which this provision becomes effective in the 
California Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers as determined by the Department of 
Industrial Relations pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2212. The increased fee 
amounts shall become effective on July 1 of each year. The new fee amounts shall be 
rounded to the nearest dollar.” (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 14, § 13055(c).) 

 
This requirement to adjust annually for inflation became effective in March 2008.  The fees 
generated are deposited into the Coastal Act Services Fund.  Upon appropriation by the 
Legislature, the Commission may expend the money for implementation of the Coastal Act.  
Each year, $500,000 (adjusted annually for inflation) is transferred to the State Coastal 
Conservancy’s Coastal Access Account. (See Pub. Res. Code, §§ 30620.1 and 30620.2.) 
 
Based on the Department of Industrial Relations CPI Index Calculator, the California Consumer 
Price Index for Urban Consumers between April 2008 thru April 2015 increased by 10.8%. 
(http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlsr/CPI/CPICalc.xls.) 
 
The schedule of filing fees will be adjusted for inflation effective July 1, 2015. The new fee 
schedule will be posted on the Commission’s website and is attached, hereto. (See Exhibit 1.)  
The final amended regulation will be available on the Commission’s website following review 
and approval by the Office of Administrative Law. 
 
No Commission action is required. 
 
Attachments: 

Exhibit 1: Filing Fee Chart 
Exhibit 2: Filing Fee Revised Schedule for Permit Application Form (effective July 1, 2015) 

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlsr/CPI/CPICalc.xls


  
EXHIBIT 1 

Filing Fee Chart 

 

Fee 
# CCC Filing Fee Category March 2008 

Original Filing Fee  Current Filing Fee 
Fee Increase Based on 
Original Filing Fee at 

CPI 10.8% Inflation Rate 
Rounded to the 

nearest $1 

1 Waiver $500  $                        548   $                         554.00   $                              554  
2 Administrative Permit $2,500  $                     2,740   $                      2,770.00  $                           2,770  
 Residential**     
3 Up to 4 SFRs <1,500 sq. feet $3,000  $                     3,288   $                      3,324.00   $                           3,324 
4 Up to 4 SFRs 1,501<5,000 sq. feet $4,500  $                     4,932   $                      4,986.00   $                           4,986  
5 Up to 4 SFRs 5,001<10,000 sq. feet $6,000  $                     6,576   $                      6,648.00   $                           6,648  
6 Up to 4 SFRs >10,001 sq. feet $7,500  $                     8,220   $                      8,310.00   $                           8,310  

7 
5 or more SFRs average <1,500 sq. 
feet $15,000  $                   16,440   $                     16,620.00   $                         16,620  

 Or per residence* $1,000  $                     1,096   $                      1,108.00   $                           1,108  

8 
5 or more SFRs average 1,501<5,000 
sq. feet $22,500  $                   24,660   $                     24,930.00   $                         24,930  

 Or per residence*  $1,500  $                     1,644   $                      1,662.00   $                           1,662  

9 
5 or more SFRs average 5,001<10,000 
sq. feet $30,000  $                   32,880   $                     33,240.00   $                         33,240  

 Or per residence* $2,000  $                     2,192   $                      2,216.00   $                           2,216  

10 
5 or more SFRs average >10,001 sq. 
feet $37,500  $                   41,100   $                     41,550.00   $                         41,550  

 Or per residence*  $2,500  $                     2,740   $                      2,770.00   $                           2,770  
11 Attached Residential up to 4 units $7,500  $                     8,220   $                      8,310.00   $                           8,310  
12 More than 4 Attached Residential units $10,000  $                   10,960   $                     11,080.00   $                         11,080  
 Or per unit* $750  $                        822   $                         831.00   $                              831  

13 Subdivisions – up to 4 new lots $3,000  $                     3,288   $                      3,324.00   $                           3,324  

  More than 4 new lots $12,000  $                   13,152   $                     13,296.00   $                         13,296  

 Plus each additional lot  $1,000  $                     1,096   $                      1,108.00   $                           1,108  

14 Grading <51 c.y. $0  $                             -   $                                -     $                                  -  
15 Grading 51<100 c.y. $500  $                        548   $                         554.00   $                              554  
16 Grading 101<1000 c.y. $1,000  $                     1,096   $                      1,108.00   $                           1,108  
17 Grading 1,001<10,000 c.y. $2,000  $                     2,192   $                      2,216.00   $                           2,216  
18 Grading 10,001<100,000 c.y. $3,000  $                     3,288   $                      3,324.00   $                           3,324  

 



 

19 Grading 100,001<200,000 c.y. $5,000  $                     5,480   $                      5,540.00   $                           5,540  
20 Grading >200,000 c.y. $10,000  $                   10,960   $                     11,080.00   $                         11,080  

 
Commercial/Industrial Based on 
Gross Sq.Ft.**     $                            -   $                                -     $                                  -  

21 Commercial/Industrial <1,000 sq. feet $5,000  $                     5,480   $                      5,540.00   $                           5,540 

22 
Commercial/Industrial 1,001<10,000 
sq. feet $10,000  $                   10,960   $                     11,080.00   $                         11,080  

23 
Commercial/Industrial 10,001<25,000 
sq. feet $15,000  $                   16,440   $                     16,620.00   $                         16,620  

24 
Commercial/Industrial 25,001<50,000 
sq. feet $20,000  $                   21,920   $                     22,160.00   $                         22,160  

25 
Commercial/Industrial 50,001<100,000 
sq. feet $30,000  $                   32,880   $                     33,240.00   $                         33,240 

26 
Commercial/Industrial >100,001 sq. 
feet $50,000  $                   54,800   $                     55,400.00   $                         55,400  

 
Commercial/Industrial Based on 
Devt Cost**    $                            -   $                                -     $                                  -  

27 Commercial/Industrial <$100,000 $3,000  $                     3,288   $                      3,324.00   $                           3,324  

28 
Commercial/Industrial 
$100,001<$500,000 $6,000  $                     6,576   $                      6,648.00   $                           6,648  

29 
Commercial/Industrial 
$500,001<$2,000,000 $10,000  $                   10,960   $                     11,080.00   $                         11,080  

30 
Commercial/Industrial 
$2,000,001<$5,000,000 $20,000  $                   21,920   $                     22,160.00   $                         22,160  

31 
Commercial/Industrial 
$5,000,001<$10,000,000 $25,000  $                   27,400   $                     27,700.00   $                         27,700  

32 
Commercial/Industrial 
$10,000,001<$25,000,000 $30,000  $                   32,880   $                     33,240.00   $                         33,240 

33 
Commercial/Industrial 
$25,000,001<$50,000,000 $50,000  $                   54,800   $                     55,400.00   $                         55,400  

34 
Commercial/Industrial 
$50,000,001<$100,000,000 $100,000  $                109,600   $                   110,800.00   $                       110,800  

35 Commercial/Industrial >$100,000,000 $250,000  $                 274,000   $                   277,000.00   $                       277,000 
 Other     

36 Emergency permit $1,000  $                     1,096   $                      1,108.00   $                           1,108  
37 Immaterial amendment $1,000  $                     1,096   $                      1,108.00   $                           1,108  
38 Material amendment 50% of fee       

39 
Extension or reconsideration for single-
family residences $500  $                        548   $                         554.00   $                              554  



 

40 
Extension or reconsideration for all 
other developments $1,000  $                     1,096   $                      1,108.00   $                           1,108  

41 Temporary Events - if administrative $1,000  $                     1,096   $                      1,108.00   $                           1,108  

42 
Temporary Events - if not 
administrative $2,500  $                     2,740   $                     2, 770.00   $                           2,770  

43 Permit Exemption $250  $                        274   $                         277.00   $                              277  
44 Continuance 1st Request $0  $                            -   $                                -     $                                  -  

45 
Continuance for each subsequent 
request if approved by Commission 

$1,000  $                     1,096   $                      1,108.00   $                           1,108  

46 De Minimis Waiver or other Waivers $500  $                        548   $                         554.00   $                              554 
47 Boundary Determination $250  $                        274   $                         277.00   $                              277  
48 Boundary Adjustment $5,000  $                     5,480   $                      5,540.00   $                           5,540  
49 Lot Line Adjustment $3,000  $                     3,288   $                      3,324.00   $                           3,324  

50 After the Fact** 
5x normal permit 

fee       

51 Federal Consistency Certification***         

52 
Appeal of a denial of a permit by local 
govt***         

 
 

*Whatever total is greater. 
** Subject to cap of $55,400 (attached residential units) $110,800 (residential) or $277,000 (industrial/commercial). 
***Fees and fee increases will vary depending on project type. 
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EXHIBIT 2 

 
COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT FORM 

APPENDIX E 

FILING FEE SCHEDULE 

(EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2015) 

FEES WILL BE ADJUSTED EACH YEAR ON JULY 1, ACCORDING TO THE CALIFORNIA CONSUMER 
PRICE INDEX 

 

 Pursuant to Government Code section 6103, public entities are exempt from the fees set forth in 
this schedule. 

 Permits shall not be issued without full payment for all applicable fees. If overpayment of a fee 
occurs, a refund will be issued. Fees are assessed at the time of application, based on the project 
as proposed initially. If the size or scope of a proposed development is amended during the 
application review process, the fee may be changed. If a permit application is withdrawn, a refund 
will be due only if no significant staff review time has been expended (e.g., the staff report has not 
yet been prepared). Denial of a permit application by the Commission is not grounds for a refund. 

 If different types of development are included on one site under one application, the fee is based 
on the sum of each fee that would apply if each development were applied for separately, not to 
exceed $110,800 for residential development and $277,000 for all other types of development. 

 Fees for after-the-fact (ATF) permit applications shall be five times the regular permit application 
fee unless the Executive Director reduces the fee to no less than two times the regular permit 
application fee. The Executive Director may reduce the fee if it is determined that either: (1) the 
ATF application can be processed by staff without significant additional review time (as compared 
to the time required for the processing of a regular permit,) or (2) the owner did not undertake the 
development for which the owner is seeking the ATF permit. 

 In addition to the above fees, the Commission may require the applicant to reimburse it for any 
additional reasonable expenses incurred in its consideration of the permit application, including the 
costs of providing public notice. 

 The Executive Director shall waive the application fee where requested by resolution of the 
Commission. Fees for green buildings or affordable housing projects may be reduced, pursuant to 
Section 13055(h) of the Commission’s regulations. 

 
 
 



 
See Section 13055 of the Commission’s regulations  

(California Code of Regulations, Title 14)  
for full text of the requirements 

 

I. RESIDENTIAL DEVELOPMENT1 
De minimis waiver ..........................................................................................   $  554 

Administrative permit .....................................................................................   $  2,7702 

A. Detached residential development   

Regular calendar for up to 4 detached, single-family dwelling(s)3,4   

1,500 square feet or less .......................................................................   $  3,324/ea 

1,501 to 5,000 square feet .....................................................................   $  4,986/ea 

5,001 to 10,000 square feet ...................................................................   $  6,648/ea 

10,001 or more square feet ....................................................................   $  8,310/ea 

Regular calendar for more than 4 detached, single-family dwellings3,4   

1,500 square feet or less .......................................................................   
$  16,620or $1,108/ea5 
whichever is greater 

1,501 to 5,000 square feet .....................................................................   $  24,930 or $1,662/ea5 
whichever is greater 

5,001 to 10,000 square feet ...................................................................   
$  33,240 or $2,216/ea5 
whichever is greater 

10,001 or more square feet ....................................................................   
$  41,550 or $2,770/ea5 
whichever is greater 

B. Attached residential development   

2–4 units ........................................................................................................   $  8,310 

More than 4 units ...........................................................................................   $  11,080 or $831/ea6 
whichever is greater 

                                                 
1 Additional fee for grading applies. (See Section III.A of this fee schedule.) 
2 Additional fee will apply if the project is removed from the Administrative Calendar and rescheduled on the Regular Calendar. 
3 “Square footage” includes gross internal floor space of main house and attached garage(s), plus any detached structures (e.g., 

guest houses, detached bedrooms, in-law units, garages, barns, art studios, tool sheds, and other outbuildings). 
4 For developments that include residences of different sizes, the fee shall be based upon the average square footage of all the 
residences. 
5 Not to exceed $110,800. 
6 Not to exceed $55,400. 



 

C. Additions or improvements   

If not a waiver or an amendment to a previous coastal development permit, 
the fee is assessed according to the schedule in A. above (i.e., based on 
the calendar and/or size of the addition, plus the grading fee, if applicable). 

  

If handled as an amendment to a previous coastal development permit,  
see Amendments (in Section III.F). 

  

II.  OFFICE, COMMERCIAL, CONVENTION, INDUSTRIAL (INCLUDING ENERGY FACILITIES), AND 
OTHER DEVELOPMENT NOT OTHERWISE IDENTIFIED IN THIS SECTION7,8,9 

A. Based on Gross Square Footage   

1,000 square feet (gross) or less ...................................................................   $  5,540 

1,001 to 10,000 square feet (gross) ...............................................................   $  11,080 

10,001 to 25,000 square feet (gross) .............................................................   $  16,620 

25,001 to 50,000 square feet (gross) .............................................................   $  22,160 

50,001 to 100,000 square feet (gross) ...........................................................   $  33,240 

100,001 or more square feet (gross) ..............................................................   $  55,400 

B. Based on Development Cost10   

Development cost up to and including $100,000 ............................................   $  3,324 

$100,001 to $500,000 ....................................................................................   $  6,648 

$500,001 to $2,000,000 .................................................................................   $  11,080 

$2,000,001 to $5,000,000 ...............................................................................   $  22,160 

$5,000,001 to $10,000,000 ............................................................................   $  27,700 

$10,000,001 to $25,000,000 ...........................................................................   $  33,240 

$25,000,001 to $50,000,000 ...........................................................................   $  55,400 

$50,000,001 to $100,000,000.........................................................................   $  110,800 

$100,000,001 or more .....................................................................................   $ 277,000 

 

                                                 
7 The fee shall be based on either the gross square footage or the development cost, whichever is greater. 
8 Additional fee for grading applies. (See section III.A of this schedule). 
9 Pursuant to section 13055(a)(5) of the Commission’s regulations, this category includes all development not otherwise 

identified in this section, such as seawalls, docks and water wells. 
10 Development cost includes all expenditures, including the cost for planning, engineering, architectural, and other services, 

made or to be made for designing the project plus the estimated cost of construction of all aspects of the project both inside 
and outside the Commission’s jurisdiction. 



 

III. OTHER FEES 
A. Grading11   

50 cubic yards or less ....................................................................................   $  0 

51 to 100 cubic yards .....................................................................................   $  554 

101 to 1,000 cubic yards ................................................................................   $  1,108 

1,001 to 10,000 cubic yards ...........................................................................   $  2,216 

10,001 to 100,000 cubic yards .......................................................................   $  3,324 

100,001 to 200,000 cubic yards .....................................................................   $  5,540 

200,001 or more cubic yards ..........................................................................   $  11,080 

B. Lot line adjustment12 ......................................................................................   $  3,324 

C.  Subdivision13   

Up to 4 new lots .............................................................................................   $  3,324/ea 

More than 4 new lots ......................................................................................   $   13,296 plus $1,108 
for each lot above 4 

D. Administrative permit ......................................................................................   $  2,77014  

E. Emergency permit ..........................................................................................   $  1,10815 

F. Amendment   

Immaterial amendment ..........................................................................   $  1,108 

Material amendment .................. [50% of fee applicable to underlying 
permit if it were submitted today] 

 $    ___________ 
     (calculate fee) 

G.     Temporary event which requires a permit pursuant to Public Resources Code section 30610(i) 

If scheduled on administrative calendar……………………………………  $  1,108 

If not scheduled on administrative calendar……………………………….  $  2,770 

H. Extension16 and Reconsideration   

Single-family residence ..........................................................................   $  554 

All other development ............................................................................   $  1,108 

                                                 
11 The fee for grading is based on the cubic yards of cut, plus the cubic yards of fill. 
12 A lot line adjustment is between adjoining parcels where the land taken from one parcel is added to an adjoining parcel, and 

where a greater number of parcels than originally existed is not thereby created. 
13 The fee is charged for each parcel created in addition to the parcels that originally existed. 
14 Additional fee will apply if the project is removed from the Administrative Calendar and rescheduled on the Regular Calendar. 
15 The emergency application fee is credited toward the follow-up permit application fee. 
16 If permit extension is objected to by the Commission and the application is set for a new hearing, then a new application fee is 

required, based on type of development and/or applicable calendar. 



 

I. Request for continuance   

1st request .............................................................................................   No charge 

Each subsequent request  
(where Commission approves the continuance) ....................................  

 
 

 
$  1,108 

J. De minimis or other waivers ...........................................................................   $  554 

K. Federal Consistency Certification17 
 [The fee is assessed according to sections I, II, and III, above] ......................  

 
 

 
$  _____ 

L. Appeal of a denial of a permit by a local government18 
[The fee is assessed according to sections I, II, and III, above] .....................  

 
 

 
$  _____ 

M. Written Permit Exemption ...............................................................................   $  277 

N. Written Boundary Determination ....................................................................   $  277 

O. Coastal Zone Boundary Adjustment ...............................................................   $  5,540 
 
 
TOTAL SUBMITTED $      
 
 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY STAFF 
SUBMITTED FEE VERIFIED BY: DATE: 

IS SUBMITTED AMOUNT CORRECT? 

 Yes. Applicant has correctly 
characterized the development,  
and payment is appropriate. 

 Applicant did not fill out form,  
thus staff has marked the form  
to compute the fee, and applicant 
has paid fee. 

 No. Why? 

 ____________________________  

 ____________________________  

   REFUND OR ADDITIONAL FEE REQUIRED? (STATE REASON) 

 Refund amount ( ___________________________________________________________________________ ) 
 
 Additional fee amount ( ___________________________________________________________________________ ) 

 REMINDER: RECORD FEE PAYMENT IN PERMIT LOG 
 FINAL FEE VERIFIED BY: (TO BE COMPLETED AFTER COMMISSION ACTION) DATE: 

 

                                                 
17 Fees for federal consistency items will be assessed now that the Commission has received approval from NOAA to amend the 

California Coastal Management Program. 
18 Pursuant to Public Resources Code section 30602 or 30603(a)(5). 
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