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B. SUBMISSION OF REGULATIONS (Complete when submitting regulations)

1a. SUBJECT OF REGULATIoN(S)

Permit application fee, annual increase

,Ib, ALL PREVIOUS RELATED OAL REGULATORYACTION NUMBER(S)

201 7-053'l-03N, 2016-061 3-03, 201 5-0629-01
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Barclays Official California Code of Regulations currentness

Title 14. Natural Resources

Division S.S California Coastal Commission fFNArl
Chapter 5. Development Permits Issued by Coastal Commissions

Subchapter r. Regular Permits
Alticle 4. Schedule of Filing Fees for Processing Permit Applications and Other Filings

14 CCR $ 130ss

$ 13055. Fees.

(a) Filing fees for processing coastal development permit applications shall be as follows:

(1) $2p{+$3.023 for any development qualifying for an administrative permit

(2) (A) For up to 4 detached, single-family residences the fee for each residence shall be based on
the square footage of the proposed residence as shown in the following table:

Square Footage oJ' Proposed Fee

Residence

I500 or less $3;s0+$3iz

1501 to 5000 $#s$5J41

5001 to 10,000 #+ezv25t

10,001 or more $ws$9J59



S 13055. Fees., 14 Cal. Code Regs,, S 13055

(B) For more than 4 detached, single-family residences, the fee shall be as follows:

1 . For residences of 1500 square feet or less, the fee shall be $l7Fe5$l&135 or

$ffitlzgg per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $+l6,70+$i2ApQg' .

2. For residences of 1501 to 5000 square feet, the fee shall be W6p58fr,fi)or
$+r7+l$1,814 per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $++@Ue0,990;

3. For residences of 5001 to 10,000 square feet, the fee shall be $31p10$$,]70 or

$2#34$21_1_S per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $t+6,790$12O20Q;

4. For residences of 10,001 or more square feet, the fee shallbe $4#63$45-18 or

$2;Sl+$,q!3 per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $+1tr4+$120900

For developments that include residences of different sizes, the fee shall be based upon the average

square footage ofall the residences.

(C) As used herein, the term "square footage" includes gross internal floor space of the main
house and attached garage(s), plus any detached structures (e.g., guest houses, detached
bedrooms, in-law units, garages, barns, art studios, tool sheds, and other outbuildings.)

(3) (A) For up to 4 attached residential units the fee shall be $$J-53$9.068

(B) For more than 4 attached residential units, the fee shall be $+f6+0$12.090 or $&75$907 per

unit, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $58#5+$641!50.

(4) All projects that include more than 50 cubic yards of grading shall be subject to an additional fee
as shown on the following table:

Cubic Yards of Grading Fee

51 to 100 $s84$695

101 to 1000 $ffiu249

1001 to 10,000 wvals
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10,001 to 100,000 $t'e+$3,62

100,001 to 200,000 $51835$6.045

200,001 or more ${rTm_490

This fee does not apply to residential projects that qualify for administrative permits.

(5) For office, commercial, convention, or industrial (including energy facilities as defined in Public
Resources Code section 30107) development, and for all other development not otherwise identified
in this section, the fee shall be based upon either the gross square footage as shown in (5)(A) or the
development cost as shown in (5)(B) whichever is greater.

(A) Fees based upon gross square footage shall be as follows:

Square Footage Fee

of Propos ed D ev elopment

1000 or less $#tr-O45

1001 to 10,000 s+.ws$l2Jga

10,001 to 25,000 $++t'es$_1!J35
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25,0011o 50,000 $290$24J_80

$3sr0-l4E6m

$s8#ss$60-ts0

$3rs0+$a6z

#-;sev25!

$+l#+o[UJg,

$23+4sS24Uq

w+75fi9%.

50,001 to 100,000

100,001 or more

(B)1. Fees based upon development cost shall be as follows

Development Cost

$ 1 00,000 or less

$100,001 to $500,000

$500,001 to $2,000,000

$2,000,001 to $5,000,000

$5,000,001 to $10,000,000

Fee

$1 0,000,001 to $25,000,000 $35S+€$35270
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$25,000,001 ro $50,000,000 $s8+so$6o.4so

$50,000,001 to $100,000,000 $++6trs0$rzo.rm

$ 100,000,001 or more seffiuoa25!

2, As used herein, the term "development cost" includes all expenditures, including the cost
for planning, engineering, architectural, and other services, made or to be made for designing
the project plus the estimated cost of construction of all aspects of the projecl both inside and
outside the Commission's jurisdiction.

(6) $*}67 $1.209 for immaterial amendments to coastal development permits, and fifty percent

(50%) of the permit fee that would currently apply to the permitted development for material

amendments to coastal development permits.

(7) $.l;{67 $1.209 for emergency permits. A fee paid for an emergency permit shall be credited

toward the fee charged for the follow-up coastal deveiopment permit.

(8) $2p18 $3.023 for temporary events that require a permit, unless the application is scheduled on

the administrative calendar, in which case the fee shall be $*rf6f$ 1.209.

(b) Filing fees for filings other than coastal development permit applications shall be as follows:

( 1) (A) $584$685 tbr either an extension or reconsideration of coastal development permit for a

single-family dwellings.

(B) $tJ67$1.209 for an extension or reconsideration of any other coastal development permit,
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(2) $5S4$605 for a "de minimis" waiver of a coastal development permit application pursuant to

Public Resources Code section 30624.7 and for a waiver pursuant to sections 13250(c) and 13253(c)

of this title.

(3) $292$1Q2 for any written confirmation of exemption from permit requirements of Public

Resources Code section 30600,

(4) $#67$_1209 for any continuance requested by the applicant, except the first continuance.

(5) The filing fee for:

(A) any certification of consistency that is submitted to the Commission pursuant to sections

307(cX3XA) or (B) of the Coastal ZoneManagement Act of 1972 (16 USC section
la56(cX3XA), (B)), or

(B) any appeal to the Commission pursuant to Public Resources Code sections 30602 or
30603(aX5) by an applicant of a denial of a coastal development permit application shall be

determined in accordance with the provisions of subsection (a),

(6) The request for a boundarl,determination pursuant to either section 13255.1 or 13576(c) shall be

accompanied by a filing and processing fee of $?92$l!2. For a request for a boundary determination

pursuant to section 13255.1 or 13576(c)(2)that pertains to two or more parcels, the fee shall be paid

on a per parcel basis.

(7) The request for a boundary adjustment pursuant to section 13255.2 shall be accompanied by a

filing and processing fee of $5,835$flQ{1.

(c) The fees established in this section shall be increased annually by an amount calculated on the basis
of the percentage change from the year in which this provision becomes effective in the California
Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers as determined by the Department of Industrial Relations
pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2212. The increased fee amounts shall become
effective on July I of each year. The new fee amounts shall be rounded to the nearest dollar.

(d) Fees for an after-the-fact (ATF) permit application shall be five times the amount specified in section
(a) unless such added increase is reduced by the Executive Director when it is determined that either:
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( I ) the ATF permit application can be processed by staff without significant additional review time
(as compared to the time required for the processing of a regular permit)L or

(2) the owner did not undertake the development for which the owner is seeking the ATF permit, but
in no case shall such reduced'fees be less than double the amount specified in section (a) above. For
applications that include both ATF development and development that has not yet occurred, the ATF
fee shall apply only to the ATF development. ln addition, payment of an ATF fee shall not relieve
any persons from fully complying with the requirements of Division 20 of the Public Resources
Code or of any permit granteci thereunder or from any penalties imposed pursuant to Chapter 9 of
Division 20 of the Public Resources Code.

(e) Where a development consists of a land division including, but not limited to, lot line adjustments or
issuance of a conditional certif,rcate of compliance pursuant to Government Code section 66499.35(b),
the fee shall be $3+g+$3JZ for each of the hrst four lots, plus $lJ67$]-2A9 for each additional lot.
Conversion to condominiums shall be considered a division of the land.

(f If different types of developments are included in one permit application, the fee shall be the sum of
the fees that would apply if each development was proposed in a separate application. However, in no
case shall the fee for residential development exceed $+1ffi$_120p00 and in no case shall the fee for
all other development exceed $29#5+$3gZX0

(g) In addition to the above fees, the commission may require the applicant to reimburse it for any
additional reasonable expenses incurred in processing the permit application, including the costs of
providing public notice. Notwithstanding the foregoing. the commission shall not require an applicant
for a permit for one single-family dwelling to reimburse it for litigation costs or fees that the
commission may incur in defending a judicial challenge to the commission's approval of the permit.

(h) The fees specified in sections (a) and (b) may be modified under the following circumstances:

(1) The executive director shall waive the application fee where requested by resolution of the

commrssl0n.

(2) The executive director of the commission shall waive the filing and processing fee in full or in
part for an application for a housing development that contains housing units the occupancy of
which by persons of low or moderate income as defined in Health and Safetl, Code section 50093 is
assured for the period of time specified in Government Code section 65915(c)(1). Applications for
projects that will create a greater public benefit will have a larger portion of the fee waived than

applications for projects that will create a lesser public benefit. The executive director will determine
the degree of public benefrt based on a variety of factors, including, but not limited to (A) the total
number of affordable units, (B) the proportion of affordable units in the development, (C) the degree
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of affordability, and (D) the availability of, and demand for, affordable units in the area.

Applications for projects that will exceed current requirements for affordable housing under the law
will receive a larger fee waiver than applications for projects which do not.

(3) For applications repeived prior to January 1,2015, the executive director of the Commission
shall reduce the filing fee for projects that are certified at a minimum of the U.S. Green Building
Council's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold standard or equivalent.
The executive director shall determine if an alternative certification is equivalent to the LEED Gold
standard based on a comprehensive review of the certification program's ability to ensure an

equivalent or greater environmental benefit. After registering a project with an approved third-party
certification program, applicants expecting to obtain a certification that qualifies for the
above-mentioned fee reduction must submit 60% of the filing fee required pursuant to section I 3055

and a letter of credit or other cash substitute approved by the executive director in the amount of the
remainder of the required filing fee. After submitting proof of certification at a minimum of LEED
Gold or equivalent, the letter of credit or other cash substitute will be released by the Commission to
the applicant. If the applicant does not receive a minimum of LEED Gold certification or equivalent
within three years of the date of permit issuance, the Commission will cash the letter of credit or
other cash substitute. The executive director may grant an extension of the three year deadline for
good cause. Request for extension must be submitted to the executive director in writing at least 60

days prior to the deadline, outlining the reason for the request and the expected completion date. The
extension shall not exceed one year.

(i) The required fee shall be paid in full at the time an application is filed. However, applicants for an
administrative permit shall pay an additional fee after filing if the executive director or the commission
determines that the application cannol be processed as an administrative permit. The additionai fee shall
be the amount necessary to increase the total fee paid to the regular fee. The regular fee is the fee
determined pursuant to this section, In addition, if the executive director or the commission determines
that changes in the nature or description of the project that occur after the initiai filing result in a change
in the amount of the fee required pursuant to this section, the applicant shall pay the amount necessary to
change the total fee paid to the fee so determined. If the change results in a decreased fee, a refund will
be due only if no significant staff review time has been expended on the original application. If the
change results in an increased fee, the additional fee shall be paid before the permit application is
scheduled for hearing by the commission. If the fee is not paid prior to commission action on the
application, the commission shall impose a special condition of approval of the permit. Such special
condition shall require payment of the additional fee prior to issuance of the permit,

Note: Authority cited: Section 30333, Public Resources Code. Reference: Sections 30620(c), Public
Resources Code.


