State of California |
Office of Administrative Law ‘

Inre: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF CHANGES
California Coastal Commission WITHOUT REGULATORY EFFECT
Regulatory Action: 1

California Code of Regulations, Title 1,
Title 14, California Code of Regulations Section 100 4

Adopt sections:
Amend sections: OAL Matter Number: 2024-0702-04
Repeal sections: :

OAL Matter Type: Nonsubstantive (N)

This action by the California Coastal Commission adjusts the threshold amount to
qualify as a major public works or energy project and the fees for permit applications
and other filings.

OAL approves this change without regulatory effect as meeting the requirements of
California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 100,

7.l

- Thanh Huynh -
Senior Attorney /

Date: August 14, 2024

For: Kenneth J. Pogue
Director

Original: Kate Huckelbridge, Executive
Director
Copy: Claire Wilkens
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TEXT OF CHANGES
Coastal Commission Regulations,
Title 14, Section 13012

§ 13012. Major Public Works and Energy Facilities

(a) "“Major public works” and “Major energy facilities” mean facilities that cost more than
$336.564 $341,677 with an automatic annual increase in accordance with the
Engineering News Record (ENR) Construction Cost Index, except for those governed
by the provisions of Public Resources Code Sections 30610, 30610.5, 30611 or 30624.

Note: Authority cited: Section 30333, Public Resources Code. Reference: Sections
30601 and 30603, Public Resources Code.




TEXT OF CHANGES
Coastal Commission Regulations,
Title 14, Section 13055

§ 130565. Fees.

(a) Filing fees for processing coastal development permit applications shall be as
follows:

(1) $3,67853,820 for any development qualifying for an administrative permit.

(2) (A) For up to 4 detached, single-family residences the fee for each residence
shall be based on the square footage of the proposed residence as shown in the
following table:

Square Footage Fee
of Proposed Residence
1500 or less $4.413%4 584
1501 to 5000 - $6.62056.876
5001 to 10,000 $8.8263$9.168
10,001 or more $14,033%11,460

" (B) For more than 4 detached, single-family residences, the fee shall be as
follows:

1. For residences of 1500 square feet or less, the fee shall be
$22.065%$22,920 or $4:471$1,528 per residence, whichever is greater, but
not to exceed $14+100$152,800;

- 2. For residences of 1501 to 5000 square feet, the fee shall be
$33,008$34,380 or $2:2074%2,292 per residence, whichever is greater, but
not to exceed $447400$152.800;




3. For residences of 5001 to 10,000 square feet, the fee shall be

$44.130%45,840 or $2.942%$3.056 per residence, whichever is greater, but
not to exceed $447400$152.800;

4. For residences of 10,001 or more square feet, the fee shall be

$55:1463357,300 or $3,;6¥833,820 per residence, whichever is greater, but
not to exceed $447:4005152,800.

For developments that include residences of different sizes, the fee shall be
based upon the average square footage of all the residences.

(C) As used herein, the term “square footage” includes gross internal floor space
of the main house and attached garage(s), plus any detached structures (e.g.,
guest houses, detached bedrooms, in-law units, garages, barns, art studios, tool
sheds, and other outbuildings.)

(3) (A) For up fo 4 attached residential units the fee shall be $14:033511,460.

(B) For more than 4 attached residential units, the fee shall be $144,740315.280
or $4+:140381,1486 per unit, whichever is greater, but not to exceed
$73,660$76,400.

(4) All projects that include more than 50 cubic yards of grading shall be subject to
an additional fee as shown on the following table:

Cubic Yards of Grading Fee
51t0 100 $7365764
101 to 1000 $4:471$1,528
1001 to 10,000 $2,942$3 056
10,001 to 100,000 $4,41354 584
100,001 to 200,000 : $7,35656%$7,640
200,001 or more $144.7103$15,280

This fee does not apply to residential projects that qualify for administrative permits.




(5) For office, commercial, convention, or industrial (including energy facilities as
defined in Public Resources Code section 30107) development, and for all other
development not otherwise identified in this section, the fee shall be based upon
either the gross square footage as shown in (5)(A) or the development cost as
shown in (5)(B), whichever is greater.

(A) Fees based upon gross square footage shall be as follows:

Square Footage of Fee
Proposed Development
1000 or less $7.355%$7.640

1001 to 10,000 $144.740$15,280
10,001 to 25,000 $22.065%22 920
25,001 to 50,000 $20,420330,560
50,001 to 100,000 $44-130$45,840
100,001 or more $73-550$76,400

(B) 1. Fees based upon development cost shall be as follows:

Development Cost Fee
$100,000 or less ' $4.413%4,584
$100,001 to $500,000 $8,826$9,168
$500,001 to $2,000,000 $14,710%15,280
$2,000,001 to $5,000,000 $20,420$30,560
$5,000,001 to $10,000,000 $36,7763%38,200
$10,000,001 to $25,000,000 $44.130345,840
$25,000,001 to $50,000,000 $73,5650$76.400
$50,000,001 to $100,000,000 $147100$152,800
$100,000,001 or more $367-£50$382,000




2. As used herein, the term “development cost” includes all expenditures,
including the cost for planning, engineering, architectural, and other services,
made or to be made for designing the project plus the estimated cost of
construction of all aspects of the project both inside and outside the
Commission’s jurisdiction.

(6) $4,47151,528 for immaterial amendments to coastal development permits, and
fifty percent (60%) of the permit fee that would currently apply to the permitted
development for material amendments to coastal development permits.

(7) $4+47481.,528 for emergency permits. A fee paid for an emergency permit shall
be credited toward the fee charged for the follow-up coastal development permit.

(8) $3,678$3,820 for temporary events that require a permit, unless the application is
scheduled on the administrative calendar, in which case the fee shall be

$14,471$1,528.

(b) Filing fees for filings other than coastal development permit applications shall be as
follows:

(1) (A) $736%764 for either an extension or reconsideration of coastal development ]
permit for a single-family dwellings. i

(B) $1:471$1,528 for an extension or reconsideration of any other coastal
development permit.

(2) $736%764 for a “de minimis” waiver of a coastal development permit application
pursuant to Public Resources Code section 30624.7 and for a waiver pursuant to
sections 13250(c) and 13253(c) of this title.

(3) $3685382 for any written confirmation of exemption from permit requirements of
Public Resources Code section 30600.

(4) $4,471$1,528 for any continuance requested by the applicant, except the first
continuance.

(5) The filing fee for:

(A} any certification of consistency that is submitted to the Commission pursuant
to sections 307(c)(3)(A) or (B) of the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972 (16
USC section 1456(c)(3)(A), (B)), or

(B) any appeal to the Commission pursuant to Public Resources Code sections



30602 or 30603(a)(5) by an applicant of a denial of a coastal development permit
application shall be determined in accordance with the provisions of subsection

(a).

(8) The request for a boundary determination pursuant to either section 13255.1 or
13576(c) shall be accompanied by a filing and processing fee of $368$382. For a
request for a boundary determination pursuant to section 13255.1 or 13576(c)(2)
that pertains to two or more parcels, the fee shall be paid on a per parcel basis.

(7) The request for a boundary adjustment pursuant to section 13255.2 shall be
accompanied by a filing and processing fee of $73556%7,640.

(e) Where a development consists of a land division including, but not limited to, lot line
adjustments or issuance of a conditional certificate of compliance pursuant to
Government Code section 66499.35(b), the fee shall be $4,443$4,584 for each of the
first four lots, plus $4:471$1,528 for each additional lot. Conversion to condominiums
shall be considered a division of the land.

(f) If different types of developments are included in one permit application, the fee shall
be the sum of the fees that would apply if each development was proposed in a separate
application. However, in no case shall the fee for residential development exceed
$1447,100$152,800 and in no case shall the fee for all other development exceed
$367,750$382,000.

Note: Authority cited: Section 30333, Public Resources Code. Reference: Sections
30620(c), Public Resources Code.




