State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re:

California Coastal Commission

Regulatory Action:

Title 14, California Code of Regulations

Adopt sections:

Amend sections: 13012(a),

13055(a),(b),(e),(f)

Repeal sections:

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF CHANGES WITHOUT REGULATORY EFFECT

California Code of Regulations, Title 1, Section 100

OAL Matter Number: 2020-0612-01

OAL Matter Type: Nonsubstantive (N)

This action by the California Coastal Commission makes changes without regulatory effect to adjust the threshold amount to qualify as a major public works or energy project and the fees for permit applications and other filings.

OAL approves this change without regulatory effect as meeting the requirements of California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 100.

Date: July 23, 2020

Kevin D. Hull Senior Attorney

For:

Kenneth J. Pogue

Director

Original: Peter Douglas, Executive

Director

Copy:

Robin Mayer

For use by Secretary of State only

ENDORSED - FILED in the office of the Secretary of State

OAL FILE NUMBER NUMBERS Z REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER

2020-0612-01

	For use by Office of Admir		/		of the State of California
	2020 JUN 12 P 3: 32			32	JUL 23 2020
			ماندو ومن الماند ويوراع ماند مون من		1:20
	•	ADMI	OFFICE OF NISTRATIVE L	AW	1:35 Pm.
NOTICE			REGULATIONS		
AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY California Coastal Commission	on .				AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If any)
A. PUBLICATION OF NOTIC	E (Complete for pub	13	_		
1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE		TITLE(S)	FIRST SECTION AFFEC	TED	2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE
3. NOTICE TYPE Notice re Proposed Regulatory Action Othe		INTACT PERSON	TELEPHONE NUMBER		FAX NUMBER (Optional)
OAL USE ACTION ON PROPOSED ONLY Approved as Submitted	NOTICE Approved as Modified	Disapproved/ Withdrawn	NOTICE REGISTER NUI	MBER	PUBLICATION DATE
B. SUBMISSION OF REGULA			ulations)		
1a. SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S) Annual increases to permit fe				US RELATED O	AL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S)
2. SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS					
SECTION(S) AFFECTED (List all section number(s) individually. Attach additional sheet if needed.)	AMEND 13012(a); 13055(a),(b)),(e),(f)			
TITLE(S)	REPEAL				
3. TYPE OF FILING					
Regular Rulemaking (Gov. Code §11346) Resubmittal of disapproved or withdrawn nonemergency filing (Gov. Code §§11349.3,	Certificate of Compliance: below certifies that this ag provisions of Gov. Code §§ before the emergency reg within the time period req	gency complied with the §11346.2-11347.3 either gulation was adopted or	Emergency Readopt Code, §11346.1(h))	t (Gov.	Changes Without Regulatory Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title 1, \$100) Print Only
11349.4) Emergency (Gov. Code, §11346.1(b))	Resubmittal of disapprove emergency filing (Gov. Co		Other (Specify)		
4. ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAI	LABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATIONS	S AND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO TH	HE RULEMAKING FILE (Cal. Code	Regs. title 1, §44 a	nd Gov. Code §11347.1)
5. EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES (Gov. Code, §§ Effective January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a))	Effective on filing v Secretary of State	with \$100 Changes W Regulatory Effect	t other (Specify		
CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQU Department of Finance (Form STD. 3)			RICONCURRENCE BY, ANOTH ractices Commission	HER AGENCY O	R ENTITY State Fire Marshal
Other (Specify)					
7. CONTACT PERSON		TELEPHONE NUMBER	FAX NUMBER (C		E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional)
Robin Mayer		415-505-5908			robin.mayer@coastal.ca.gov
 I certify that the attacher of the regulation(s) identifies true and correct, and it or a designee of the head 	tified on this form, tha that I am the head of th d of the agency, and an	at the information spe he agency taking this m authorized to make	cified on this form action,		Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only DORSED APPROVED
SIGNATURE OF AGENCY HEAD OR DESIGNATURE TYPED NAME AND TIVLE OF SIGNATURY	W.C.	DATE S/2	9/2020		JUL 2 3 2020

Susan Hansch, Chief Deputy Director

Office of Administrative Law

TEXT OF PROPOSED CHANGES Coastal Commission Regulations, Title 14

Annual Fee Increases & Major Works Threshold Increase

Section 13012. Major Public Works and Energy Facilities.

(a) "Major public works" and "Major energy facilities" mean facilities that cost more than \$283,502 \$288,163 with an automatic annual increase in accordance with the Engineering_ News Record Construction Cost Index, except for those governed by the provisions of Public Resources Code Sections 30610, 30610.5, 30611 or 30624.

Note: Authority cited: Section 30333, Public Resources Code. Reference: Sections 30601 and 30603, Public Resources Code.

Section 13055. Fees.

- (a) Filing fees for processing coastal development permit applications shall be as follows:
 - (1) \$3,123\(\) 33,175 for any development qualifying for an administrative permit.
 - (2) (A) For up to 4 detached, single-family residences the fee for each residence shall be based on the square footage of the proposed residence as shown in the following table:

Square Footage of Proposed Residence	Fee
1500 or less	\$3,747 <u>\$3.810</u>
1501 to 5000	\$5,621 <u>\$5,715</u>
5001 to 10,000	\$7,49 4 <u>\$7,620</u>
10,001 or more	\$ 9,368 \$ <u>9,525</u>

(B) For more than 4 detached, single-family residences, the fee shall be as follows:

- 1. For residences of 1500 square feet or less, the fee shall be \$18,735 \$19,050 or \$1,249\$1,270 per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed \$124,900\$127,000;
- 2. For residences of 1501 to 5000 square feet, the fee shall be \$28,103\\$28,575 or \$1,874\\$1,905 per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed \$124,900\\$127,000;
- 3. For residences of 5001 to 10,000 square feet, the fee shall be \$37,470\$38,100 or \$2,498\$2,540 per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed \$124,900\$127,000;
- 4. For residences of 10,001 or more square feet, the fee shall be \$46,838\\$47,625 or \$3,123\\$3,175 per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed \$124,900\\$127,000.

For developments that include residences of different sizes, the fee shall be based upon the average square footage of all the residences.

- (C) As used herein, the term "square footage" includes gross internal floor space of the main house and attached garage(s), plus any detached structures (e.g., guest houses, detached bedrooms, in-law units, garages, barns, art studios, tool sheds, and other outbuildings.)
- (3) (A) For up to 4 attached residential units the fee shall be \$9,368\$9,525.
 - (B) For more than 4 attached residential units, the fee shall be \$12,490\\$12,700 or \$937\\$953 per unit, whichever is greater, but not to exceed \$62,450\\$63,500.
- (4) All projects that include more than 50 cubic yards of grading shall be subject to an additional fee as shown on the following table:

\$625 \$635
\$023 \$033
\$1,249 <u>\$1,270</u>
\$2,498 <u>\$2,540</u>

10,001 to 100,000	\$3,747 <u>\$3,810</u>		
100,001 to 200,000	\$6,245 <u>\$6,350</u>		
200,001 or more	\$ 12,490 \$ <u>12,700</u>		

This fee does not apply to residential projects that qualify for administrative permits.

(5) For office, commercial, convention, or industrial (including energy facilities as defined in Public Resources Code section 30107) development, and for all other development not otherwise identified in this section, the fee shall be based upon either the gross square footage as shown in (5)(A) or the development cost as shown in (5)(B), whichever is greater.

(A) Fees based upon gross square footage shall be as follows:

Square Footage of Proposed Development	Fee
1000 or less	\$6,245 <u>\$6,350</u>
1001 to 10,000	\$12,490 <u>\$12,700</u>
10,001 to 25,000	\$ 18,735 <u>\$19,050</u>
25,001 to 50,000	\$24,980 <u>\$25,400</u>
50,001 to 100,000	\$37,740 <u>\$38,100</u>
100,001 or more	\$62,450 <u>\$63,500</u>

(B) 1. Fees based upon development cost shall be as follows:

Development Cost	Fee
\$100,000 or less	\$3,747 <u>\$3,810</u>
\$100,001 to \$500,000	\$7,494<u>\$7,620</u>

\$500,001 to \$2,000,000	\$12,490 <u>\$12,700</u>
\$2,000,001 to \$5,000,000	\$24,980 <u>\$25,400</u>
\$5,000,001 to \$10,000,000	\$31,225 <u>\$31,750</u>
\$10,000,001 to \$25,000,000	\$37,470 <u>\$38,100</u>
\$25,000,001 to \$50,000,000	\$62,450 <u>\$63,500</u>
\$50,000,001 to \$100,000,000	\$124,900 <u>\$127,000</u>
\$100,000,001 or more	\$312,250 <u>\$317,500</u>

2. As

used herein, the term "development cost" includes all expenditures, including the cost for planning, engineering, architectural, and other services, made or to be made for designing the project plus the estimated cost of construction of all aspects of the project both inside and outside the Commission's jurisdiction.

- (6) \$1,249\\$1,270 for immaterial amendments to coastal development permits, and fifty percent (50%) of the permit fee that would currently apply to the permitted development for material amendments to coastal development permits.
- (7) \$1,249\$1,270 for emergency permits. A fee paid for an emergency permit shall be credited toward the fee charged for the follow-up coastal development permit.
- (8) \$3,123\$3,175 for temporary events that require a permit, unless the application is scheduled on the administrative calendar, in which case the fee shall be \$1,249\$1,270.
- (b) Filing fees for filings other than coastal development permit applications shall be as follows:
 - (1) (A) \$625\\$635 for either an extension or reconsideration of coastal development permit for a single-family dwellings.
 - (B) \$1,249\$1,270 for an extension or reconsideration of any other coastal development permit.

- (2) \$625\$635 for a "de minimis" waiver of a coastal development permit application pursuant to Public Resources Code section 30624.7 and for a waiver pursuant to sections 13250(c) and 13253(c) of this title.
- (3) \$312\$318 for any written confirmation of exemption from permit requirements of Public Resources Code section 30600.
- (4) \$1,249\$1,270 for any continuance requested by the applicant, except the first continuance.
- (5) The filing fee for:
 - (A) any certification of consistency that is submitted to the Commission pursuant to sections 307(c)(3)(A) or (B) of the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972 (16 USC section 1456(c)(3)(A), (B)), or
 - (B) any appeal to the Commission pursuant to Public Resources Code sections 30602 or 30603(a)(5) by an applicant of a denial of a coastal development permit application shall be determined in accordance with the provisions of subsection (a).
- (6) The request for a boundary determination pursuant to either section 13255.1 or 13576(c) shall be accompanied by a filing and processing fee of \$312\\$318. For a request for a boundary determination pursuant to section 13255.1 or 13576(c)(2) that pertains to two or more parcels, the fee shall be paid on a per parcel basis.
- (7) The request for a boundary adjustment pursuant to section 13255.2 shall be accompanied by a filing and processing fee of \$6,245\$6,350.
- (e) Where a development consists of a land division including, but not limited to, lot line adjustments or issuance of a conditional certificate of compliance pursuant to Government Code section 66499.35(b), the fee shall be \$3,747\$3,810 for each of the first four lots, plus \$1,249\$1,270 for each additional lot. Conversion to condominiums shall be considered a division of the land.
- (f) If different types of developments are included in one permit application, the fee shall be the sum of the fees that would apply if each development was proposed in a separate application. However, in no case shall the fee for residential development exceed \$124,900\\$127,000 and in no case shall the fee for all other development exceed \$312,250\\$317,500.

5

Note: Authority cited: Section 30333, Public Resources Code. Reference: Sections 30620(c), Public Resources Code.