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WHAT ARE MARINE FLARES? 

Source: Boat Magazine 

 Type of pyrotechnic devices that 
produce a brilliant light or a plume of 
colorful smoke as a visual distress 
signal to attract attention in an 
emergency, and to help pinpoint the 
boater’s exact location.  
 
The two most common types:  
 Handheld flares- ignite on the 

ground 
 Aerial flares which are fired into 

the air 

Only flares manufactured to US Coast Guard specifications are 
approved as visual distress signals 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
MF are distress signs and a type of Pyrotechnic devices that produce a brilliant light or a plume of colorful smoke as a visual distress signal to attract attention in an emergency, and to help pinpoint the boater’s exact location. 

The two most common types are the handheld flares which ignite on the ground and aerial flares which are fired into the air

The average shelf life for pyrotechnic devices is between 36 and 42 months from the manufacture date, because the effectiveness of the chemicals can break down over time. An estimated 174,000 pyrotechnic marine flares are generated each year by recreational vessels in California. With this large number of pyrotechnic flares expiring annually in California, increased public awareness of proper disposal options is needed. 



WHAT TYPE OF BOATERS NEED TO 
COMPLY WITH THIS REQUIREMENT? 
 The U.S. Coast requires vessels longer than 16 feet operating on 

coastal waters, the Great Lakes, territorial seas, and waters 
directly connected to them (up to the point where the body of 
water is less than two miles wide) to carry Coast Guard 
approved visual distress signals, such as pyrotechnic flares.  
 

 Exceptions: 
 Recreational boats <16 feet in length 
 open sailboats < 26 feet in length and not equipped with 

propulsion machinery 
manually propelled boats  

 
These vessels are only required to carry nighttime distress signals 
when operating from sunset to sunrise 

 
 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The U.S. Coast requires vessels longer than 16 feet operating on coastal waters (https://definitions.uslegal.com/c/coastal-waters/), the Great Lakes, territorial seas (https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/33/2.22 - means the waters, 12 nautical miles wide, adjacent to the coast of the United States), and waters directly connected to them (up to the point where the body of water is less than two miles wide) to carry Coast Guard approved visual distress signals, such as pyrotechnic flares. 

Recreational boats less than 16 feet in length, open sailboats less than 26 feet in length and not equipped with propulsion machinery, and manually propelled boats are exceptions to these requirements. These vessels are only required to carry nighttime distress signals when operating from sunset to sunrise. 



MORE ABOUT REQUIREMENTS 

Source:  
AceBoater.com 

The USCG requires boaters to carry a minimum of: 
 
 three daytime and three nighttime use flares to meet the visual 

distress signal requirements.  
 only need three pyrotechnic flares if they are approved for both 

daytime and nighttime use.  
 
 Red-colored handheld and aerial pyrotechnic flares are 

approved for both daytime and nighttime use;  
 orange-colored flares are approved for daytime use only. 

Presenter
Presentation Notes

The US Coast Guard requires boaters to carry a minimum of three pyrotechnic flares approved for daytime use, and three flares approved for nighttime use to meet the visual distress signal requirements. Boaters only need three pyrotechnic flares if the flares are approved for both daytime and nighttime use. Red-colored handheld and aerial pyrotechnic flares are approved for both daytime and nighttime use; however, orange-colored flares are approved for daytime use only. Failure to have visual distress signals, or having only expired pyrotechnic flares on a vessel, could result in a $1,100 fine

Marine pyrotechnic flares must be in a usable condition, stowed where readily accessible, and not expired. According to U.S. Coast Guard regulations, the average shelf life for pyrotechnic devices is between 36 and 42 months from the manufacture date. The Code of Federal Regulations (33 CFR 175.125) states: "No person may use a boat unless each signal required by 175.110 is in serviceable condition and the service life of the signal, if indicated by a date marked on the signal, has not expired.” 


The average shelf life for pyrotechnic devices is between 36 and 42 months from the manufacture date, because the effectiveness of the chemicals can break down over time. An estimated 174,000 pyrotechnic marine flares are generated each year by recreational vessels in California. With this large number of pyrotechnic flares expiring annually in California, increased public awareness of proper disposal options is needed. 




According to U.S. Coast Guard regulations, the average shelf life for 
pyrotechnic devices is between 36 and 42 months from the 
manufacture date.  
 
33 CFR 175.125: "No person may use a boat unless each signal required 
by 175.110 is in serviceable condition and the service life of the signal, if 
indicated by a date marked on the signal, has not expired.”  
 
Failure to have visual distress signals, or having only expired pyrotechnic 
flares on a vessel, could result in a $1,100 fine 
 

Source:  
Fisheriessupply.com 
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Presentation Notes
Marine pyrotechnic flares must be in a usable condition, stowed where readily accessible, and not expired. According to U.S. Coast Guard regulations, the average shelf life for pyrotechnic devices is between 36 and 42 months from the manufacture date. The Code of Federal Regulations (33 CFR 175.125) states: "No person may use a boat unless each signal required by 175.110 is in serviceable condition and the service life of the signal, if indicated by a date marked on the signal, has not expired.” 




ARE MARINE FLARES CONSIDERED 
TO BE A HAZARDOUS MATERIAL? 

The California Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) 
classifies pyrotechnic flares that will no longer be used for their intended 
purpose as hazardous waste, as they are toxic, reactive, and 
ignitable (as defined by hazardous waste regulations).  
 
Common ingredients in various types of flares include:  
 
• Strontium nitrate and strontium peroxide (listed on the EPA’s 

Toxic Substance Control Act Inventory List) 
• Potassium perchlorate and potassium nitrate (known irritants),  
• Magnesium, and black powder (a mixture of sulfur, charcoal, and 

potassium nitrate) 
• Perchlorate is a hazardous material also recognized as a water 

pollutant of concern.  

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The California Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) classifies pyrotechnic flares that will no longer be used for their intended purpose as hazardous waste, as they are toxic, reactive, and ignitable (as defined by hazardous waste regulations). Pyrotechnic flares are a safety hazard due to their combustible and reactive nature. Common ingredients in various types of flares include strontium nitrate, potassium perchlorate, strontium peroxide, magnesium, and black powder (a mixture of sulfur, charcoal, and potassium nitrate). Strontium nitrate and strontium peroxide are listed on the EPA’s Toxic Substance Control Act Inventory List. Potassium nitrate and potassium perchlorate are known irritants, and perchlorate is a hazardous material also recognized as a water pollutant of concern. Other chemicals in flares, such as strontium nitrate, may also have an adverse impact on water quality





WHY MARINE EXPIRED FLARES ARE 
AN ISSUE IN OUR STATE? 

Photo by Norma Lococo (Dana Point) Photo by Vivian Matuk (San Francisco) 

Presenter
Presentation Notes
The average shelf life for pyrotechnic devices is between 36 and 42 months from the manufacture date, because the effectiveness of the chemicals can break down over time. An estimated 174,000 pyrotechnic marine flares are generated each year by recreational vessels in California. With this large number of pyrotechnic flares expiring annually in California, increased public awareness of proper disposal options is needed. 

Currently there are no permitted facilities in California that can accept, treat and/or dispose of non-military explosives waste streams.
There are only three permitted facilities in the country ( that accept and treat/dispose of explosive wastes streams (two facilities treat in incinerators –UT+LA, the other does open burning MO).  The packaging, disposal and transportation costs involved with safe disposal of these explosive waste streams are cost prohibitive for use by the public and governmental agencies.  It costs approximately $7 to $11 per pound to have explosives packaged, transported, treated and disposed of at an out-of-state permitted facility and there is a minimum fee of approximately $1,700 to $2,500 for transportation 
 

There are currently no commercial hazardous waste treatment (incineration, open burn/open detonation, or thermal treatment) facilities in California. The State and Federal Land Disposal Restriction rules prohibit land filling this waste without treatment;
These products are designed for household use, but most Household Hazardous Waste Collection facilities do not accept these when discarded;
Most agencies, such as the Coast Guard, fire departments, county bomb squads, and police departments no longer accept this waste. 



WHY MARINE EXPIRED FLARES ARE 
AN ISSUE IN OUR STATE? 

Photo by Vivian Matuk (San Francisco) 
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The California Department of Boating and Waterways, the California Coastal Commission, DTSC, the California Department of Resources Recovery Recycling, the California Emergency Management Agency, and the San Francisco Department of Public Health formed an “Expired Marine Flares Working Group” to address the lack of affordable disposal options for expired marine flares. 

The working conducted research and had meeting with CUPAs, DOT, bomb squads, approved haulers and conducted several surveys to educated parties about this issue. Based on the results of a survey done by the working group, most California boaters are stockpiling marine flares, disposing of marine flares in the trash or in waterways, or illegally setting them off during fourth of July festivities which has resulted in destructive fires. 

The working group proposed to have annual collection events at different locations.  Due to this work and effort, CalRecycle set up the grant programs for local governments.  That’s what we are going to now talking about.

In addition here in CA








CALRECYCLE 
HOUSEHOLD HAZARDOUS WASTE 
GRANT PROGRAM (FY 2020-21)  

Application Due 
Date: July 15, 2020 



Photo by Sirius Signal Co. 

For disposal of expired marine flares, please contact the California 
Department of Toxic Substances Control (800-728-6942) or your local 
Certified Unified Program Agency 
(http://cersapps.calepa.ca.gov/public/directory/) for assistance. 
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Presentation Notes
Only non pyrotechnic USCG Approved flare
Approved for night time used and daytime use if within 3 miles from the coast and accompanied by an orange distress flag
Some features include: It floats, illuminates up to 6 hours, batteries C last approx. 10,000 hours, automatic flashing SOS light sequences

https://sable.godaddy.com/c/37904?id=694699.996.1.b8b95ac28a263f0489e055e4d9d61aff
http://cersapps.calepa.ca.gov/public/directory/


A BAY AREA PILOT 
PROJECT TO HELP 

BOATERS  
Huy Le, HHW & Used Oil Program 
Coordinator 
San Francisco Department of the 
Environment 

Wesley Won, M.S. 
Hazardous Materials Specialist III 
San Mateo County Environmental Health 
Services 

Bruce Fritz 
Alameda County Department of 
Environmental Health, HHW 
Division 

 


	Slide Number 1
	Slide Number 2
	Slide Number 3
	Slide Number 4
	Slide Number 5
	Slide Number 6
	Slide Number 7
	Slide Number 8
	Slide Number 9
	Slide Number 10
	Slide Number 11
	Slide Number 12
	Slide Number 13

