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STAFF REPORT: REGULAR CALENDAR  
    
Application No.:    5-12-152 
  
Applicant:                                California Department of Parks & Recreation 
                                                   Brian Ketterer, Orange Coast District Superintendent 
 
Location: San Clemente State Beach, San Clemente (Orange County) 
    
Project Description:                         Install automated payment machines (APMs) and implement 

automated fee payment program at two locations: beachfront 
parking lot at end of Avenida Calafia and day-use lot at San 
Clemente State Beach campground. At Calafia: (1) remove 
existing meters and replace with two APMs; (2) increase 
hourly rate from $1 to $2 during peak season and establish a 
$15 a day flat-rate year round; (3) establish new holiday rate 
of $20 a day on summer holidays, Memorial Day, July 4th, 
and Labor Day, with no hourly rates.  At the San Clemente 
State Beach campground: (1) replace Iron Ranger with APM; 
(2) retain flat-rate of $15 per day year-round; (3) establish 
new holiday rate of $20 on Memorial Day, July 4th, and Labor 
Day. No hourly rates are proposed at the campground. 

 
Staff Recommendation:  Approval with conditions. 
 
 

SUMMARY OF STAFF RECOMMENDATION: 
 
The California Department of Parks & Recreation is seeking a coastal development permit to install 
three Automated Payment Machines (APMs) at San Clemente State Park located in San Clemente 
(Orange County).  The machines accept credit and debit cards and cash, but do not make change. 
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Two of the APMs would collect fees for vehicles parking at the beachfront parking lot at the end of 
Avenida Calafia. At Calafia, the project includes removal of parking meters, which has already 
taken place, and replacement with the APMs. The other APM would collect fees near the entrance 
to the San Clemente State Beach Campground. Fees are currently collected there at a staffed kiosk 
or entry station.  
 
State Parks also proposes a flexible or “floating fee schedule.” At Calafia, State Parks proposes to 
increase the hourly parking rate from $1 to $2 during peak season, establish a $15 a day flat-rate 
year round, and a new holiday rate of $20 a day on summer holidays, Memorial Day, July 4th, and 
Labor Day, with no hourly rates.  At the San Clemente State Beach campground, State Parks would 
replace an Iron Ranger with the APM, retain a $15 a day flat-rate year-round, and establish the new 
holiday rate of $20 on Memorial Day, July 4th, and Labor Day. No hourly rates are proposed at the 
campground. 
 
Installation of the machines and the new fee schedule constitutes development under the Coastal 
Act Section 30106 (as both installation of a structure and a change in intensity of use) and requires 
a CDP. State Parks is seeking after-the-fact approval for the three APMs that are installed and 
operating. 
 
The standard of review for this project is Chapter 3 policies of the Coastal Act. Commission staff is 
recommending approval of the CDP with a series of conditions to maximize public access and 
protection of lower cost visitor and recreational opportunities on public land, while recognizing 
recent legislative direction to State Parks to create new revenue streams to fund facility 
management and operations throughout the State Park system. Commission staff specifically 
recommends that State Parks prepare a revised parking management program for San Clemente 
State Beach parking lots covered by this application. To encourage increased visitation, the 
condition, among other provisions, requires State Parks to provide hourly rates seven days a week, 
including holidays. 
 
Staff is recommending the $20 holiday rate be approved for the three summer holidays, and also 
that hourly rates be offered on those days. Provision is made to eliminate the hourly rate on the 
three holidays after one year if at least 75% of those holiday visitors purchase all-day passes. 
 
State Parks acknowledges that the APMs “can be reprogrammed to increase or decrease fees.” The 
proposed daily, hourly, and holiday rates are maximums. Other provisions require Executive 
Director review of further fee increases to determine whether an amendment or a new CDP is 
required. State Parks also is encouraged to explore the sale of annual regional passes and the means 
to maximize the availability of discount rates for seniors, the disabled, veterans, and low-income 
persons through the APM program or through park staff. 
 
The flexible fee schedule likely will result in an increase in visitation by the public, which will 
further maximize public access, thereby enabling State Parks’ to achieve its intended result of 
increasing revenue. Staff is recommending monitoring and data collection protocols to determine 
the effects of offering different parking rate options and to use that information to devise an updated 
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parking management program that addresses any impacts to access and visitation patterns identified 
through analysis of the data. 
 
The staff recommendation also addresses the issue of beach closure. Staff is recommending that 
State Parks maintain the hours of the Calafia and San Clemente Campground parking lots from 6 
a.m. to 10 p.m. at a minimum.  
 
Commission staff also recommends another condition concerning access to state tidelands. 
Consistent with Article X, Section 4, of the State Constitution and Section 30210 of the Coastal 
Act, State Parks may regulate the hours and use of parking lots, but not in a manner that prohibits 
all public access to the shoreline.  Some existing signs make no distinction between “park” closure 
hours and constitutionally protected access to the shoreline. For instance, at Calafia, signs are 
posted saying “Beach Hours 6 AM – 10 PM” and “Beach and Parking Lot Open 6 A.M. – 10 P.M.”  
As conditioned,  any existing signage that indicates or suggests the beach itself is closed at any time 
shall be removed and  allow the public to gain pedestrian access to state waters for recreational 
activities after the parking lots have closed. 
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I.  MOTION AND RESOLUTION 
 
Motion: 

I move that the Commission approve Coastal Development Permit Application No. 5-12-
152 subject to the conditions set forth in the staff recommendation. 

 
Staff recommends a YES vote on the foregoing motion. Passage of this motion will result in 
conditional approval of the permit and adoption of the following resolution and findings. The 
motion passes only by affirmative vote of a majority of the Commissioners present. 
 
Resolution: 
 

 The Commission hereby approves a coastal development permit for the proposed 
development and adopts the findings set forth below on grounds that the development as 
conditioned will be in conformity with the policies of Chapter 3 of the Coastal Act and 
will not prejudice the ability of the local government having jurisdiction over the area to 
prepare a Local Coastal Program conforming to the provisions of Chapter 3 of the 
Coastal Act.  Approval of the permit complies with the California Environmental Quality 
Act because either 1) feasible mitigation measures and/or alternatives have been 
incorporated to substantially lessen any significant adverse effects of the development on 
the environment, or 2) there are no further feasible mitigation measures or alternatives 
that would substantially lessen any significant adverse impacts of the development on the 
environment. 

 
 
II. STANDARD CONDITIONS 
 
This permit is granted subject to the following standard conditions: 
 
1. Notice of Receipt and Acknowledgment.  The permit is not valid and development shall 

not commence until a copy of the permit, signed by the permittee or authorized agent, 
acknowledging receipt of the permit and acceptance of the terms and conditions, is 
returned to the Commission office. 

 
2. Expiration.  If development has not commenced, the permit will expire two years from the 

date on which the Commission voted on the application.  Development shall be pursued in 
a diligent manner and completed in a reasonable period of time.  Application for extension 
of the permit must be made prior to the expiration date. 

 
3. Interpretation.  Any questions of intent or interpretation of any condition will be resolved 

by the Executive Director or the Commission. 
 
4. Assignment.  The permit may be assigned to any qualified person, provided assignee files 

with the Commission an affidavit accepting all terms and conditions of the permit. 
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5. Terms and Conditions Run with the Land.  These terms and conditions shall be 
perpetual, and it is the intention of the Commission and the permittee to bind all future 
owners and possessors of the subject property to the terms and conditions. 

 
III. SPECIAL CONDITIONS 
 
This permit is granted subject to the following special conditions: 
 
1. Revised Parking Management Program. Prior to issuance of the coastal development 

permit, the applicant shall submit to the Executive Director for review and written approval, a 
revised parking management program for the subject parking lot(s), which shall include the 
following elements: 

 
a. Provide hourly rates seven days a week at each facility where parking fees are charged 

through an automated pay machine (APM). In no case, shall a visitor paying hourly rates 
pay in excess of the flat day use fee. 

 
b. Allow flat day use parking fee ($15 maximum) per day year-round (except as allowed in 

sub-part "c” below of this special condition). 
 
c.    The proposed holiday rate of $20 per day may be offered for the three summer holidays—

Memorial Day, the Fourth of July and Labor Day only.  An hourly rate option, with the 
same hourly rates offered during non-holiday periods, shall also be provided on those 
holidays for the first year the permit is valid.  Based on the results of monitoring (as 
outlined in Special Condition No. 2 below), if data indicates 75 percent of visitors choose 
the all-day option upon arrival, the hourly rate option may be eliminated on only those 
summer holidays and at only those parking lots that reflect the 75 percent threshold in the 
subsequent years this permit is valid; 

 
d. Fees may be reduced or eliminated at any time; however, any changes that would exceed 

the maximums set forth in this application shall be reported to the Executive Director to 
determine whether an amendment or new coastal development permit is required. Specific 
consideration should be given to reduced fees during off-peak periods; 
 

e.   Explore the sale of annual regional passes and the means to maximize the availability of 
existing discount rates for seniors, the disabled, veterans and low-income persons through 
the APM program or through park staff; 

 
f.   Implement supplemental means to increase visitation including extending park hours, 

parking lot hours and operation. At San Clemente State Beach, including both the Calafia 
lot and the Campground, the parking lot hours shall be 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. at a minimum.  
Operating hours may be expanded at any time; however, any changes that would reduce 
operating hours below those outlined above shall be reported to the Executive Director to 
determine whether an amendment or new coastal development permit is required; 
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g. Include monitoring and data collection protocols to determine how or whether parking 
fees affect public use over the long term pursuant to Special Condition #2 below. 

 
The applicant shall undertake development in accordance with the approved final parking 
management program.  Any proposed changes to the approved final parking management 
program shall be reported to the Executive Director.  No changes to the approved final 
parking management program shall occur without a Commission amendment to this Coastal 
Development Permit unless the Executive Director determines that no amendment is legally 
required. 

 
2. Permit Expiration and Monitoring Requirements.  CDP #5-12-152 shall be valid for a 

period of three years from date of Commission action and subject to the following monitoring 
and reporting requirements during the three-year permit validation period: 

 
a. The goal of the monitoring is to determine the effects of offering different parking rate 

options (e.g. hourly, flat fee, holiday, etc.) through the Automated Payment Machines 
(APMs) on park visitation, access and revenue on weekdays, weekends, peak and off-peak 
periods and holidays.  Data to be collected from APMs must demonstrate parking lot 
usage in both peak (May 16 to September 30) and off-peak periods (October 1 to May 15) 
and includes, but is not limited to, the following: 
 
1) Paid attendance figures 
2) Revenue collected  
3) Turnover rates 
4) Type of fee paid – hourly, daily, holiday, discount pass, other. 
5) Quantity and type(s) of parking violations issued 

 
b. Data shall be submitted annually to the Executive Director, with the first annual period 

beginning from the date of permit issuance; 
 
c. Prior to expiration of the CDP, the applicant shall submit an application for a permit 

amendment or new CDP for an updated parking management program which has been 
revised to address the impacts to access and visitation patterns identified through analysis 
of the data from the submitted monitoring information.  The updated submittal shall 
include measures to eliminate any identified adverse impacts to coastal access and to 
maintain and/or increase visitation and revenue based on the submitted data. 

 
3.      State Tidelands Access. This permit shall regulate hours and use of the parking lots, but does 

not authorize a prohibition of all public access to the shoreline.  The applicant shall remove 
any existing signage that indicates or suggests that the beach itself is closed at any time and 
shall allow the public to gain access to state waters for recreational activities after the parking 
lots have closed. 
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IV. FINDINGS AND DECLARATIONS 
 
A. PROJECT LOCATION, BACKGROUND AND DESCRIPTION 
 

1. Project Location:  
  

San Clemente State Beach, located in the Orange County city of San Clemente, provides a wide 
variety of recreational opportunities for visitors of all sorts, including hikers, walkers, joggers, 
swimmers, surfers, campers, photographers, nature enthusiasts, picnickers, and sunbathers. The 
park is divided into two sections. The campground itself, which includes campsites, fire pits, trails, 
picnic sites, and 174 parking spaces. No change in the number of spaces is proposed. There is a 
Visitors Center, restrooms, showers, a campfire center, and other facilities. The Calafia Beach 
parking area at the end of Avenida Calafia provides direct access to the sandy beach across a set of 
railroad tracks. A long stretch of the California Coast Trail runs on the inland side of the train 
tracks. The area is very popular for a variety of activities, including swimming, sunbathing, 
walking, jogging, and boogie boarding. The Calafia lot has 206 parking spaces.  Additional metered 
parking spaces are present along Avenida Calafia, prior to entering the parking lot; these spaces, 
which are under City ownership and are not within the boundary of the State park, are not a part of 
this permit application. 
 

2. Project Description: 
 
The California Department of Parks & Recreation has installed two automated payment machines 
on either side of the concession stand in the center of Calafia parking lot loop at the end of Avenida 
Calafia. Another automated payment machine has been installed on a concrete patio near the 
entrance kiosk to San Clemente State Beach. The twin APMs at Calafia collect payment of parking 
fees for that area, while the other APM at the park entrance can collect fees for camping and the day 
use lot at the San Clemente campground when the entry kiosk is not staffed.  
   
In their application, State Parks proposed to and has removed parking meters from the Calafia lot. 
State Parks is currently charging $1 an hour for parking at Calafia. The application proposes to 
increase the hourly rate to $2 during peak season (May 16 through September 30) and establish a 
$15 a day flat-rate year-round. In addition, the application proposes to establish a new holiday rate 
of $20 a day on summer holidays, Memorial Day, July 4th, and Labor Day, with no hourly rates.  At 
San Clemente campground, an Iron Ranger will be replaced by the APM. State Parks will retain the 
flat-rate of $15 per day year-round; and establish a new holiday rate of $20 on Memorial Day, July 
4th, and Labor Day. No hourly rates are proposed at the campground. The machine is also capable 
of assisting the public in renting a campsite and selling annual State Park visitor passes. All of the 
APMs accept credit and debit cards and cash, but do not make change. 
 
Following initial submittal of the application, Commission staff asked the applicant to explain the 
need for the automated pay machines and revised fee schedule.  In response to those questions, the 
applicant explained: 
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“State Parks, under the direction of the Legislative and Executive Branches of State government is 
required to be entrepreneurial in how it collects revenue. With that direction, the Orange Coast 
District is investigating separate payment options for all park units to not only maintain or increase 
revenue, but to increase visitation as well.” 
 
The July 23, 2012 letter from the applicant also stated:  “The Orange Coast District is substantially 
lowering off-season camping rates, instituting an hourly fee schedule at many park units, and is not 
seeking to increase the current regular flat day rate charged at any park unit. Again, the District 
believes it is adequate to provide the Coastal Commission the highest price point fee which may be 
used at these park units and describe what a floating fee schedule is. However, it should not be the 
Commission’s decision to dictate what fee schedules will be adopted by State Parks when coastal 
access and view shed issues are not diminished.” 
 
The applicant has indicated the APMs are currently not capable of honoring long standing State 
Parks discounts designed to assist visitor groups such as seniors, disabled, and veterans.1 At entry 
kiosks staffed by park workers, senior citizens 62 years of age or older are able to obtain an 
immediate $1 discount on day use fees and $2 on camping. Disabled persons with a special pass, 
issued by the department, are entitled to receive a 50% discount on day use fees. Other discounts 
are available for seniors, distinguished veterans, the aged, blind, disabled and low-income 
Californians on welfare through an application process. For example, distinguished veterans with a 
special pass are not charged for either day use or camping. The APM is not capable of recognizing 
these specific user groups and therefore cannot provide the long-standing discounts. However, State 
Parks staff has indicated they will continue to provide the discounts when staff are present and will 
explore ways to offer the discounts through the APMs if feasible. 
 
State Parks has applied for a coastal development permit to install and operate the machines. At 
Calafia and the San Clemente State Beach Campground, the new APMs have already been installed. 
Signs have also been placed above the APMs at Calafia displaying the $20 holiday rate and no 
hourly rates on holidays. Therefore, State Parks is seeking after-the-fact approval for this 
development. 
 
B. COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT JURISDICTION 
 
Pursuant to the California Coastal Act a coastal development permit is required for any 
“development”, unless specifically exempted under a variety of provisions or procedures set forth in 
the Coastal Act or pursuant to other provisions of law. The Coastal Act defines “development” as 
including, among other things, a “change in the intensity of use of water, or of access thereto….” 
(Public Resources Code Section 30106.)  A coastal development permit is required even if little or 
no physical construction is necessary to implement the action calling for a fee, a fee increase or a 
change in hours of operation.  
 

                                            
1 A list of existing State Park passes and discounts is available on the Department website and can be viewed at: 
http://www.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=1049     Page viewed by Coastal staff on January 15, 2013. 
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A coastal development permit also is required for development that includes construction of a 
structure. Installation of an APM requires physical improvements to the infrastructure at the site. In 
some cases, trenching is needed to install conduit to carry electrical power and communications 
lines. In some cases, minor grading may be necessary to install the concrete pad on which the 
machine is placed. Some APMs operate on solar power and have a Wi-Fi connection. One of the 
APMs at Calafia has solar collectors and Wi-Fi. Minor trenching to disturbed asphalt was needed to 
connect to electrical power at the other Calafia APM and for the campground APM. 
 
Beyond the physical installation, the APMs and their associated fees have the potential to affect the 
intensity of use and access to beaches and state waters. 
 
In October 1993, former Commission Executive Director Peter Douglas issued a memo to Planning 
Directors of Coastal Cities and Counties and other interested persons (Exhibit 3) describing 
circumstances when a coastal development permit is required when imposing or increasing fees or 
modifying the hours of operation of public beaches or public beach parking lots, piers or boat 
launching ramps. 
 
The memo states: “Because the imposition or substantial increase of a user fee for beach access 
parking…would, in our opinion, result in a change in access to state waters, a coastal development 
permit is required.” The memo says a ‘substantial increase’ means any fee increase of 25% or more 
in any given year or 50% or more on a cumulative basis over any three consecutive year period.” 
 
In a number of cases, the Commission has applied the guidance provided in the memo. For instance, 
in 1997, the Commission approved CDP 5-96-268 for construction of a five-level “Queensway 
Bay” parking structure in downtown Long Beach. A permit amendment 5-96-268-A1 was later 
approved with a special condition requiring an amendment to the coastal development permit for 
any parking fee increase that exceeds 25% in any one-year period or 50% in any three-year period. 
 
In 1998, the Commission approved a proposed project to install metered parking at the Marina 
Green public parking lots and new curbside spaces with parking meters along Shoreline Drive in 
downtown Long Beach. CDP 5-98-042 also contained a special condition requiring a permit 
amendment for any parking fee increase that exceeded 25% in any one-year period, or 50% in any 
three-year period.  
 
At San Clemente State Beach, State Parks’ proposed increase in the day use fee from $15 to $20 on 
the three summer holidays represents a 33.3 percent increase within a one year period and 
constitutes a substantial increase.  The increase in the hourly rate at the Calafia lot from $1 to $2 
during peak season (May 16 through September 30) represents a 100% increase within a one year 
period and also constitutes a substantial increase. In addition, the operating hours for the fee 
machines and parking lots are subject to Commission review and have not been authorized through 
a coastal development permit.  Such activities meet the definition of development contained in 
Section 30106 of the Coastal Act as they result in a change in the intensity of use of the land and/or 
a change in intensity of use of water, or of access thereto. 
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C. CHAPTER 3 STANDARD OF REVIEW 
 

The proposed project is located within the Commission’s CDP jurisdiction area. The City of San 
Clemente has a certified Land Use Plan, but not a certified LCP.  The LUP can provide non-binding 
guidance, but the standard of review is Chapter 3 policies of the Coastal Act.   
 
D. PUBLIC ACCESS AND RECREATION 
 
The California Coastal Act requires the Commission to maximize opportunity for coastal access 
and contains the following relevant policies: 
 

Section 30210:  In carrying out the requirement of Section 4 of Article X of the California 
Constitution, maximum access, which shall be conspicuously posted, and recreational 
opportunities shall be provided for all people consistent with public safety needs and the 
need to protect public rights, rights of private property owners, and natural resource areas 
from overuse. 
 
Section 30211: Development shall not interfere with the public's right of access to the 
sea where acquired through use or legislative authorization, including, but not limited to, 
the use of dry sand and rocky coastal beaches to the first line of terrestrial vegetation. 
 
Section 30212.5: Wherever appropriate and feasible, public facilities, including parking 
areas or facilities, shall be distributed throughout an area so as to mitigate against the 
impacts, social and otherwise, of overcrowding or overuse by the public of any single 
area.  
Section 30213: Lower cost visitor and recreational facilities shall be protected, 
encouraged,, and, where feasible, provided. Developments providing public recreational 
opportunities are preferred. …  
 
Section 30220: Coastal areas suited for water-oriented recreational activities that 
cannot readily be provided at inland water areas shall be protected for such uses. 
 
Section 30221: Oceanfront land suitable for recreational use shall be protected for 
recreational use and development …  

 
Other Coastal Act policies also are relevant to the public recreational access issues presented by the 
proposed project, including: 

 
Section 30240 (b): Development in areas adjacent to…parks and recreation areas shall 
be sited and designed to prevent impacts which would significantly degrade those areas, 
and shall be compatible with the continuance of those…recreation areas.  
 
Section 30252: The location and amount of new development should maintain and 
enhance public access to the coast by (1) facilitating the provision or extension of transit 
service, (2) providing commercial facilities within or adjoining residential development 
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or in other areas that will minimize the use of coastal access roads, (3) providing non-
automobile circulation within the development, (4) providing adequate parking facilities 
or providing substitute means of serving the development with public transportation,…. 

 
Among the most important goals and requirements of the Coastal Act is the mandate to protect, 
provide, enhance, and maximize public recreational access opportunities to and along the coast 
consistent with strong resource conservation principles. Within this guiding framework, the 
protection of and priority for lower cost visitor and recreational facilities is explicitly identified.  
San Clemente State Beach provides a broad array of recreational opportunities at the southern end 
of Orange County. Calafia is a sandy beach on the ocean side of a set of railroad tracks and rip-rap. 
At the base of sandstone bluffs, the beach provides stunning views up and down the coast. It 
provides opportunities for swimming, walking, jogging, picnicking, sunbathing and exploring. The 
California Coastal Trail on the inland side of the railroad tracks is popular with runners and 
walkers. The concession building at the center of the parking lot loop includes a snack bar, picnic 
tables, restrooms and showers. 
 
The campground provides bluff-top camping spaces and a day use area. Some sites have stunning 
views of the coastline. There are walking trails to the beach, a campfire ring, fire pits, restrooms and 
showers. The park provides open space – a welcome respite from the urbanized area and the busy 
Interstate 5 freeway nearby.  It is a valuable recreational and environmental resource.   
Historically, the Calafia parking area has had parking meters, which charged 25 cents for 15 
minutes – the equivalent of $1 per hour. State Parks removed the parking meters last summer and 
installed two APMs on either side of the snack bar/concession stand.   
 
Since the machines have been installed and activated, State Parks has charged $1 per hour or $15 
per day to park at Calafia. The application proposes to charge $1 per hour in the off-peak season 
from October 1 through May 15.  In the peak season from May 16 through September 30, State 
Parks proposes to raise the fee to $2 an hour. It should be noted that the City of San Clemente 
charges $1.50 per hour for parking at its beach lots and meters farther up Avenida Calafia near the 
entrance to the State Parks campground. 
 
State Parks proposes a $20 per day flat rate on the three summer holidays-Memorial Day, Fourth of 
July, and Labor Day. No hourly rates would be offered on those holidays at Calafia. For visitors to 
Calafia accustomed to paying for short-term parking, the proposal to charge a flat fee of $20 a day 
on holidays represents a very substantial increase.  
 
In a November 23, 2012 letter to Commission staff, the applicant said on Labor Day, 56 percent of 
day use pass sales at Calafia were for three or more hours of parking. On an average non-holiday 
day, only 42 percent of day use pass sales were for three hours or more. This very preliminary data 
suggests there is demand for both hourly rates and longer-term parking at Calafia.  The hourly rate 
should be required on holidays to ensure public access to lower cost visitor and recreational 
facilities is maintained at Calafia. 
 
At the San Clemente campground, State Parks proposes to retain the $15 flat fee for day use, and to 
establish a new holiday rate of $20 on Memorial Day, July 4th, and Labor Day.  No hourly rates are 
proposed at the campground at any time. 
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The flat fee program at the campground and its day use area offers visitors no alternative to access 
the park by motor vehicle for less than the full day rate. It is possible for a small number of visitors 
to park at a limited number of parking meters operated by the City of San Clemente on Avenida 
Calafia outside the park entrance and walk in. 
 
In their application, the applicant says “the automatic pay machines will allow State Parks to 
provide more flexible fee schedules including hourly, daily and seasonal fee schedules rather than 
just the current flat fee schedule.” State Parks believes the proposed floating fee schedule will 
further increase visitation2. 
 
The Commission believes an hourly parking rate would allow short-term visitors the opportunity to 
enjoy the sunset or engage in recreational activity such as a walk or jog on the beach, without 
incurring the expense of the full day fee.  It is advantageous that the proposed APMs will allow 
State Parks to offer an hourly fee option to maximize access and provide the opportunity for visits 
of a brief duration such as surfing in the morning, walking on the beach, or viewing the sunset. The 
parking lots with hourly rates are inherently a lower-cost visitor and recreational facility since they 
would offer a one-hour visit for $1 rather than a one-hour visit that costs $15 if only a full-day fee 
was offered at the facility. Therefore, offering only a full-day flat rate parking program does not 
maximize public access or provide a low-cost option.  
 
State Parks is offering hourly rates at many state beaches in San Diego County, including Carlsbad, 
South Carlsbad, San Elijo, Cardiff, Torrey Pines North, and Silver Strand in Coronado.  State Parks 
announced the move in a November 2011 press release, which states: 
 
“If visitors want a short visit, like a run on the beach or a sunset, they would not pay for the whole 
day, but rather just for the time they select and that’s how they would be given a price break. Also, 
State Parks thinks this will help with revenue because it may encourage more people to take 
advantage of the opportunity for shorter visits, quite possibly creating more turnover of visitors and 
therefore more revenue. In addition, visitors may choose to use the state lots at hourly rates rather 
than park further away from the beach.”   
 
To ensure that maximum access is provided, the Commission is requiring Special Condition 1 
which requires State Parks to submit, prior to issuance of the CDP, a revised parking management 
program for the San Clemente State Beach parking lots covered by this application.  To encourage 
increased visitation, the condition requires State Parks to provide hourly rates daily (i.e. Monday 
through Sunday and holidays) at every San Clemente State Beach facility where parking fees are 
charged through an automated pay machine. To paraphrase the State Parks press release involving 
hourly rates at San Diego state beaches, this will provide maximum flexibility for users, provide a 
lower rate for shorter visits, and potentially create more turnover and revenue.  This provision is 
consistent with Section 30213 of the Coastal Act which states that “Lower cost visitor and 
recreational facilities shall be protected, encouraged, and, where feasible, provided. Developments 
providing public recreational opportunities are preferred. …”  

                                            
2 August 30, 2012 letter from the applicant to Commission staff 
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The special condition indicates a visitor paying hourly rates shall not be required to pay in excess 
of the flat day use fee. The purpose of this provision is to ensure that State Parks will provide an 
opportunity for an hourly ticket to be upgraded to a full day ticket without exceeding the maximum 
cost of the day use fee. 
 
The Department’s application proposes the flat rate of $15 per day year-round except on certain 
summer holidays where they are proposing to establish a new rate of $20 a day on Memorial Day, 
July 4th, and Labor Day.   
 
Special Condition 1 also provides that State Parks may only require the proposed $20 holiday rate 
on the three summer holidays—Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day.  At $20, the holiday 
rate would be among the highest charged by a state beach operated by the Department.3  Day use 
fees for all State Parks are shown on the Department’s website at: 
http://www.parks.ca.gov/pages/737/files/Current_GeoLoc%20web_day%20use.pdf   Page visited 
by Commission staff on January 15, 2013.  
 
Summer holidays are high demand periods and State Parks in their application views those days as 
an opportunity to increase revenue, in part to offset higher costs for law enforcement, public safety, 
housekeeping and customer service, while still providing the same accessibility to all patrons. 
 
To provide an opportunity for some visitors to access the park at a lower rate for a short-term visit, 
Special Condition 1 requires State Parks to offer an hourly rate on the three summer holidays 
during the first year of this permit.  Based on monitoring results, if data indicates that 75 percent of 
visitors choose the all-day option upon arrival, the hourly rate option may be eliminated on only 
those summer holidays and at only those parking lots that reflect the 75 percent threshold in the 
subsequent years this permit is valid. 
 
The proposed daily, holiday and hourly rates are maximums. State Parks acknowledges that the 
automated payment machines “can be reprogrammed to increase or decrease rates.”   In order to 
ensure that changes are reviewed for consistency with the Coastal Act, Special Condition 1 
provides that fees may be reduced or eliminated at any time, however, any changes that would 
exceed the maximums set forth in this application shall be reported to the Executive Director to 
determine whether an amendment or new coastal development permit is required. Specific 
consideration should be given to reduced fees during off-peak periods.  As discussed above, 
providing the flexible fee schedule should result in increased visitation and therefore increased 
revenue. The actual impact of the new fee structure on visitation and revenue will be more evident 
after the APMs have been operating and user data is analyzed.  
 
To provide additional opportunities for visitation, State Parks shall explore the sale of annual 
regional passes.  At kiosks staffed by park workers, the Department provides discounts for certain 
groups of visitors, including an immediate $1 discount for senior citizens over 62 and a 50 percent 

                                            
3 In a letter dated November 23, 2012, State Parks states that the Commission has already authorized fees of $25 and 
above on specific holidays and during special events at other parking lots.  Commission staff has not yet identified any 
such approvals granted by the Commission through a coastal development permit.  
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discount for disabled persons who have a Department-issued pass. These discounts are not 
available through the Automated Payment Machines. To preserve these discounts, State Parks is 
encouraged to explore the means to maximize the availability of discount rates for seniors, the 
disabled, veterans, and low-income persons through the APM program or through park staff. 
 
Special Condition 2 establishes  a 3 year validation period for this permit and requires monitoring 
and data collection protocols.  Data to be submitted annually to the Executive Director includes, 
but is not limited to: paid attendance figures, revenue collected, turnover rates in parking lots, and 
the type of fee paid – hourly, daily, holiday, or other (for example, camping fees or annual pass 
purchases.) The goal of the monitoring is to determine the effects of offering different parking rate 
options (e.g. hourly, flat fee, holiday, etc.) through the Automated Payment Machines (APMs) on 
park visitation, access and revenue on weekdays, weekends, peak and off-peak periods and 
holidays.  With that information, the applicant would submit an application for a permit 
amendment or new CDP for an updated parking management program prior to expiration of this 
permit which has been revised to address any impacts to access and visitation patterns identified 
through analysis of the data from the submitted monitoring information.  The updated submittal for 
reauthorization would include measures to eliminate any identified adverse impacts to coastal 
access and to maintain and/or increase visitation and revenue based on the submitted data. 
 
Hours of Operation/Beach Closure: 
 
One of the Commission’s most fundamental legislative mandates is to protect and expand public 
access to and along the coast and to guarantee the public’s Constitutional right to access state 
tidelands through the implementation of the Coastal Act. The Commission has a long history of 
assuring through our planning and regulatory process that existing public access to the sea is not 
closed or adversely impacted by new development; that where appropriate, new access and 
recreation is provided, including as mitigation for development impacts; and that prescriptive public 
rights to access the shoreline are protected. We also have a mandate to assure that public access is 
provided and managed in relation to the needs of all citizens, and to protect private rights, natural 
resources, and public safety. Hence, the Commission has long been involved in evaluating and 
resolving conflicts between competing uses, and in evaluating proposals that might affect the 
public’s ability or costs of getting to the coast, to assure that the public’s fundamental rights of 
coastal access, and the legislative mandates of the Coastal Act, are met.  
 
In dealing with these issues, the Commission has distinguished between the closure of public use of 
beaches and of support facilities, such as parking lots, accessways, piers and boat launch ramps.  
The closest scrutiny is given to the closure of beaches; however, limiting hours of beach parks and 
parking lots is especially critical in terms of impacts to access when the park access or parking lot 
serves as the only means for the public to reach the shoreline. 
 
To ensure consistency with Section 30210 of the Coastal Act, maximum access to the navigable 
waters for the purpose of recreation must be provided for all people that is in harmony with public 
safety needs.  Working with the City of Laguna Beach on its coastal development permit 
(Resolution No. 10.019/CDP No. 10-12) for an ordinance (No. 1521) establishing a beach curfew, 
the City decision to approve beach closure between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. was not appealed to the 
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Commission because the ordinance states the closure shall not apply to activities such as walking, 
jogging, fishing, grunion hunting, scuba diving, surfing, or swimming and specifically 
acknowledges that individuals may go to or come from the wet sand or the area within 20 feet 
inland of the wet sand, for any of the allowed uses by the most direct safe route available at any 
given location.  
 
In the Huntington Beach downtown area Specific Plan amendment (HNB-MAJ-1-10), the 
Commission certified the following language to assure public access to State tidelands is provided:  
 
3.3.7.15: A public beach closure/curfew cannot apply to the area of Coastal Commission original 
jurisdiction (State tidelands, submerged lands and public trust lands) including but not necessarily 
limited to the area seaward of the mean high tide line.  Public access to the water’s edge and at least 
20 feet inland of the wet sand of all beaches shall be permitted at all times.  Closure to public use of 
any portion of the beach inland of the mean high tide line is not encouraged and requires a coastal 
development permit which must maintain the public’s right to gain access to State tidelands.  
Measures that limit public use of the beach shall be limited to those necessary to address 
documented public safety events that cause a risk or hazard to the general public and shall be the 
minimum necessary to address the potential risk or hazard to the general public.  The need for 
continuation of safety measures that limit public access shall be reassessed on a periodic basis to 
assure maximum public access is provided. Limited closure for beach maintenance may be 
allowable pursuant to a coastal development permit.” 
 
Each State Park Superintendent is authorized by the Department Director to adopt Posted Orders to 
manage activities such as park hours within each park unit. The Posted Order (No. 925-12-003 
issued July 1, 2012) sets closing times for all State Park units in the Orange Coast District.   
The parking lots at San Clemente State Beach are closed between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.  
 
The order states that: “All areas within the park units of the Orange Coast District designated for 
day use, such as, parking areas, picnic areas, trails, bluff areas, beach (except as in Article V[sic] 4 
of the State Constitution involving fishing) and other areas not designated as authorized camping 
areas are closed to public use, entry and occupancy and all traffic, to include vehicle, foot, bicycle 
or other human powered vehicles, mopeds or other forms of transportation other than 
administrative or emergency vehicles….” 
 
At Calafia, signs are posted saying “Beach Hours 6 AM – 10 PM” and “Beach and Parking Lot 
Open 6 A.M. – 10 P.M.”   
 
Signage posted at these State Park facilities that establish beach or beach parking hours at 10 p.m. 
discourage and, in some cases,  prevent the public from using the beach after park hours, which is 
inconsistent with Section 30210 of the Coastal Act.  
 
As part of Special Condition 1 for this permit, the Commission is requiring that State Parks 
implement supplemental means to increase visitation including extending park hours, parking lot 
hours and operation. At San Clemente State Beach, including both the Calafia lot and the 

                                            
4 The correct citation is to Article X, Section 4 of the state Constitution. 
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Campground, the parking lot hours shall be 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. at a minimum.  These hours, along 
with the shorter hourly rate option, will protect existing public access opportunities within this 
segment of the coast. 
 
In order to ensure that changes are reviewed for consistency with the Coastal Act, Special 
Condition 1 provides for operating hours to be expanded at any time; however, any changes that 
would reduce operating hours below those outlined above shall be reported to the Executive 
Director to determine whether an amendment or new coastal development permit is required. 
 
Special Condition 3 concerns access to state tidelands. Consistent with Article X, Section 4, of the 
State Constitution and Section 30210 of the Coastal Act, State Parks may regulate hours and use of 
parking lots, but not in a manner that prohibits all public access to the shoreline. Some existing 
signs make no distinction between ‘park’ closure hours and constitutionally protected access to the 
shoreline. Therefore, the Commission finds removal of any existing signage that indicates or 
suggests that the beach itself is closed at any time will allow the public to gain access to state 
waters for recreational activities after the parking lots have closed.  This is an essential part of an 
overall program to ensure that, in the context of these proposed changes to the fee collection system 
and the fee structure itself, that any potential adverse impacts on public access are ameliorated by 
expanded parking lot hours and the correction of existing inconsistencies with Section 30210 of the 
Coastal Act. 
 
CONCLUSION 
 
As conditioned, the proposed project to install Automated Payment Machines and institute a new 
floating fee schedule, including hourly rates, has the potential to expand visitation, improve public 
access, and increase revenue. State Parks has an opportunity to demonstrate whether or not the 
public will take advantage of alternatives to the existing $15 flat fee day use parking rate, 
particularly for shorter length visits. Data collected during the three-year life of this permit will 
provide some evidence about the demand of state park visitors for a variety of parking options and 
provide a tool to help devise the best approach to maximize public access to the coast and increase 
visitation and, therefore, revenue at San Clemente State Beach.  
 
Signs indicating that the beach is closed after hours will be removed to ensure that existing rights 
of access to State tidelands are honored.   
 
Prior to expiration of the CDP, the applicant shall submit an application for a permit amendment or 
new CDP for a updated parking management program which has been revised to address the 
impacts to access and visitation patterns identified through analysis of the data from the submitted 
monitoring information.  The updated submittal shall include measures to eliminate any identified 
adverse impacts to coastal access and to maintain and/or increase visitation and revenue based on 
the submitted data. 
 
The Commission finds that the proposed project, as conditioned, is consistent with the public 
access and recreational policies of the Coastal Act. 
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E. VISUAL IMPACTS 
 
Coastal Act Section 30251 requires that “the scenic and visual qualities of coastal areas shall be 
considered and protected as a resource of public importance. Permitted development shall be sited 
and designed to protect views to and along the ocean and scenic coastal areas….” 
 
The Automated Payment Machines would be installed at the entrance to or in paved parking lots. 
The machines stand about 54 inches off the ground. In some cases, the APMs are accompanied by a 
12-foot-tall pole to mount informational signs and provide a location for solar collectors, which 
power some of the machines. At Calafia, the APMs are located near the snack bar/concession stand 
in the center of the parking lot loop. At the San Clemente State Beach Campground, the APM is 
located on a concrete patio near the entry station. The smaller APM replaced a larger information 
sign that had a greater visual impact on distant coastal views. As such, the APM will have less of a 
visual impact on public views of the shoreline, view corridors or the scenic or visual qualities of 
coastal areas. Therefore, installation of the proposed APMs is consistent with Coastal Act Section 
30251. 
 

F. CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY ACT (CEQA) 
 
Section 13096 of the California Code of Regulations requires that a specific finding be made in 
conjunction with coastal development permit applications showing the application to be consistent 
with any applicable requirements of CEQA. Section 21080.5(d)(2)(A) of CEQA prohibits a 
proposed development from being approved if there are feasible alternatives or feasible mitigation 
measures available which would substantially lessen any significant adverse effect which the 
activity may have on the environment.  
 
The Department of Parks & Recreation, acting as lead CEQA agency, determined that the proposed 
project was categorically exempt from CEQA review, and thus the Department did not identify any 
significant adverse environmental effects from the proposed project. The Coastal Commission’s 
review and analysis of coastal development permit applications has been certified by the Secretary 
of Resources as being the functional equivalent of environmental review under CEQA. This staff 
report has discussed the relevant coastal resource issues with the proposal, and has recommended 
appropriate conditions to avoid and/or lessen any potential for adverse impacts to said resources. 
All public comments received to date have been addressed in the findings above. All above Coastal 
Act findings are incorporated herein in their entirety by reference. 
 
As such, there are no additional feasible alternatives nor feasible mitigation measures available 
which would substantially lessen any significant adverse environmental effects which approval of 
the proposed project, as conditioned, would have on the environment within the meaning of CEQA. 
Thus, as conditioned, the proposed project will not result in any significant environmental effects 
for which feasible mitigation measures have not been employed consistent with CEQA Section 
21080.5(d)(2)(A). 
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APPENDIX A 
 

Substantive File Documents:  
Coastal Permit Application File Number 5-12-152 
California State Park System Statistical Reports 2003/04 through 2010/11 Fiscal Years 
California State Parks – Pass Descriptions – Department website: 
http://www.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=1049   Viewed by Commission staff on January 15, 2013. 
California State Parks – Day Use Fees by Geographical Region  – Department website:  
http://www.parks.ca.gov/pages/737/files/Current_GeoLoc%20web_day%20use.pdf   Viewed by 
Commission staff on January 15, 2013. 
California Department of Parks and Recreation, Orange Coast District, District Superintendent’s 
Posted Order No. 928-12-003, dated July 1, 2012. 
Coastal Permit Application Numbers 5-96-268, Coastal Permit Amendment 5-96-268-A1 and 5-98-
042, involving parking in coastal areas of the City of Long Beach. 
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